Mid-Week Musings: Conflicting Advice

in #life7 years ago

A6F6ACDB-3892-4229-BB69-BD08D629FFAA.jpeg

I have eaten Chinese fast food (probably not too healthy, but certainly delicious!) a couple of times over the last week, and received the above fortunes from my fortune cookies.

I received the “Now is a lucky time for you – take a chance” fortune first, and was thinking it applied to my crypto investing activities best. But then, not two days later, I received a new fortune saying “Invest, but never speculate”.

I am now conflicted! I consider my crypto investing speculative, as I really don’t really know what I am doing or how to properly value coins to make a “wise investment”. I understand algorithms, but really I see most crypto price changes as supply and demand equations (I believe buying demand will continue to outpace sales and “mining” supply, therefore many cryptos will head higher).

Which fortune cookie advice should I take? What do you do when you face conflicting advice? (ie: your mom says dump your boyfriend, but your friend says marry him?)

Perhaps I should throw both away and try again?

Take care my friends,

Brian

Sort:  

That is too funny. As for speculative investing, Etherium and Neo don't feel any more risky to me right now than buying something like Tesla or Netflix. The amount of applications being built on the ETH and NEO blockchains makes me think they're solid investments. Now, some of those projects on those blockchains are definitely speculative. I'm a little too risk averse for ICO's but I totally get the appeal if you think you can spot a winner from the very beginning.

Hmmm. I don't know about the fortune cookies but I know the other one: If your mom says dump a boy and your friend disagrees ... dump them both :)

Good post. Blessings

🤣 now that is good advice!

If you haven’t already please check out :
Is commenting really worthwhile
Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!
Steemit Etiquette Rules
No one is interested in following, upvoting, or looking at the posts of a person who disrespects their work or interests by only wanting to talk about himself and his interests. If you want to reply to someone's post please have the courtesy to contribute to the topic of the post.

I think everyone has at least once had a fortune cookie and had advice that made him puzzled. In such important decision I do not rely on fortune but research first with possible prognosis and then decide. So just through both messages away. As to mom's advice, I would listen to it, nobody wishes their children to be unhappy, but in this case I will decide myself weighing all pro's and contra's

I am now conflicted! I consider my crypto investing speculative, as I really don’t really know what I am doing or how to properly value coins to make a “wise investment”.

I think majority of us fall into this category barring I think a very few who may perhaps know or understand how to time this market.... but I would think they are very rare

I say to buy other cookies again with other cookies to see how it looks or you can just do what your heart tells you @brian.rrr

I guess you should throw them both away. The first one is just a random guess that's certainly more speculative than your crypto speculation and the second one is just some pseudo wisdom. Invest because of the same reasons you have so far and don't take risks you are not willing to stomach if things go sour. I think that's the best advice for this situation ;)

I would indeed throw both away and never rely on such thing although its funny to read, trust yourself and your feeling!

That’s why you only eat one fortune cookie, or the cookie spirit gets mad at you and tries to confuse you :)

Very interesting post. Thanks for sharing @brian.rrr

very interesting.
congratulations on your luck @brian.rrr and believe in yourself, confidence is very difficult to establish

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37