Surely It Can't Be All Bad...

in #life6 years ago

So here I am, in the middle of a drought in South Africa while the Government plans land expropriation without compensation, and just when I think it couldn't possibly get any worse these little guys decide to make their appearance.

DSCN2218.JPG

And as harmless as they might appear, I assure you that there is no end to the harm that these grasshoppers are capable of!

But then I think to myself, there has to be something good that I can take from all this, even if it is just something small enough to get me through this day, after all, grasshoppers are considered as a good omen by some in the Chinese culture right?

So I sat and thought about what I could learn from all of this and eventually I realized that maybe I should try and take a lesson from the grasshopper himself, here are a few things that popped to mind:

DSCN2256.JPG

The grasshopper sings his song proudly and moves almost in a choreographed manner.

~ This teaches us that we should always take pride and honer in what we do, and more than that we should move to the tune of our hearts music, thus allowing our inner artist to immerse.

Despite its size that limits its sight, the grasshopper is constantly aware of his surroundings.

Just as the grasshopper uses thousands of tiny eyes to formulate the "big picture" and thus seeing things more intuitively; We should start seeing what's beyond the mortal walls that cage our minds.

The grasshopper leaps forward with amazing progression in proportion to his actual size.

And just like the grasshopper we to should leap past our obstacles every day, knowing that we are so much bigger and stronger than anything we might be facing, even if that means taking a leap of faith every now and then.

DSCN2299.JPG

U5dryJTkzxt285RdLyVD6RDhFcNY7MN.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breeze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

When I lived in the Canary Islands we used to have Locust plagues coming from Africa and affecting the crops... I know they were harmful but I can't help to think they're cute at the same time.

I hear you - they are actually beautiful, I think that was why I was trying to see the positive side in this article...

From the perspective of resources, that could be chicken food or fish bait.
;)

HA HAAAAAA I have tried that, not the chicken nor the fish eats them, in fact they have no natural predators in this area, leaving me to think that they are probably poisonous, so I am rather not going to eat the either LOL

Must be a rare type! Might see if the ants will eat them, ha.

I hear those things are pretty good fried, or on pizza. I'm sure they're good fish food. If you can catch enough of them, you might make a couple bucks.

I am not sure that these are the same ones that you are talking about - absolutely nothing in this area eats them including the cultures in this area accustomed to eating other grasshoppers, flying ants and mopani-worms to name a few, nor does fish birds or chickens :(

Well, that's alarming. I am sure someone has tried. People eat Sea Urchin gonads, they must have tried locusts before!

I'd be utterly flabbergasted if chickens wouldn't eat locusts. Have you tried to feed a few to your chickens?

I have yes - but I am sure these specific ones are poisonous or something, if you squash them they smell like stink bug - blaaaagh - I wouldn't want to eat them - wouldn't mind other bugs (if I had to) but not these...

I love that you were able to see the beauty in them. 💕

:D I suppose there is beauty in everything if we are looking to find it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72