You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Helping someone with depression - How I managed to help my friend fight it out and what it taught me about depression and anxiety

in #life7 years ago

I have several people in my life that struggle with depression. It is such a seemingly unmovable object when it has set in and taken hold of its victim. It can be quite challenging to break through the darkness just to be acknowledged let alone interact with the person affected.

It's easy to develop feelings of frustration or impatience with those who are depressed since it can appear that they do not wish to feel better or to improve their circumstances. It is simply the disease that robs the victim of all hope, all remedies, even when they seem so obvious to us.

I'm glad that your friend is better and leading a productive life. For so many, escape is temporary, at best...

Sort:  

Indeed. I have seen it happen to my friend twice, and I wish it never happens to anyone. But it can, and we need to be aware, or try to notice if it is happening to the people we care about.

Depression has hit closer to home than I have realized, and I am committed to helping the people I care about fight it out, if I ever get to know they are fighting a solo battle. It may get frustrating, but it needs to be borne for the greater good.

Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60071.31
ETH 2409.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43