Borrans Beer Review: De Koninck, Lost in Spice

in #life7 years ago

On Friday evening I rewarded myself with a beer for successfully fixing my car. The beer I chose this time was Brouwerij De Konincks Lost in Spice. It's a Spiced / Herbed Beer, absolutely not a beer that I would usually choose but I was curious how it would taste. Cardamom, ginger, orange zest, lemon and coriander are the spices in this beer.

Brouwerij De Koninck was opened in 1833, since 2010 it is owned by Duvel Moortgat Brewery.

Source

Here's a list of some beers they make:


BOLLEKE DE KONINCK
TRIPEL D'ANVERS
WILD JO
LOST IN SPICE

Source


IMG_20180324_211408copy.jpg

IMG_20180324_211339.jpg


The appearance: Clear light yellow orange color with a small white head.

The smell: A lot of different aromas: ginger, floral, citrus, coriander, cardamom, malt and yeast. The ginger aroma is dominant.

The mouthfeel: Watery, light body. Medium carbonation. The taste: Moderate sweet with hints of malts, some Belgian yeast. Changes rapidly into all the spices. Ginger also dominates in the taste.


It's a bit too heavy on the spices for my taste. Especially the amount of ginger, which is not my favorite spice. As I earlier mentioned, I'm not a big fan of spiced beers. Usually I don't like them at all, but this one was drinkable. A little smaller amount of ginger in this beer and I would have liked it more. Still, I will give it a rating 3 out of 5.


De Koninck, Lost in Spice:

BreweryBrouwerij De Koninck
CountryAntwerpen, Belgium
StyleSpiced / Herbed Beer
Alcohol5.2 %
IBU18
Score3/5

Camera: Nikon Coolpix P530.


Please drink responsibly!


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!


Sort:  

You got a 2.88% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @borran!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I dont really like these beers with bizarre ingredients and flavors but I do enjoy these reviews! It is a great idea, I think you are hosting the only regular beer review series on Steemit :) I must tell my friend (one of the beer explorers I told you about earlier) to join Steemit too - I am sure he would trully appreciate your work borran :)

Thanks for your kind words! :)..Actually, I'm not the only one making beer reviews. But overall it's not so popular here on steemit! Yeah absolutely, you should do that! I got a couple of my friends very interested in steemit today! :)

That's a very spiced beer, lol

Hot damn! I love cardamom, ginger, orange zest, lemon and coriander in my beer. These flavors are what I gravitated towards when I enter the craft beer community.

Ok! :).. I love craft beer, and I like that breweries experiment when they make beer! But spiced beers have never been my thing!

I’m not a big Christmas spiced beer guy. It has to be the right combo of spices.

All right! Coriander is a spice that I like! :)

Same it’s a great complement to Belgiums.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71