Borran's Beer Review: Pilsner Urquell

in #life5 years ago

DSCN2111.JPG


Hey everyone!
Today, I'm reviewing a pilsner called Pilsner Urquell from the brewery Plzeňský Prazdroj. Plzeňský Prazdroj or Pilsner Urquell Brewery is located in Pilsen, Czech Republic. I guess it's reasonable to call this beer a classic. I believe most of you guys have heard about Pilsner Urquell.

Brewery facts:
- Plzeňský Prazdroj (in English: Pilsner Urquell Brewery) was founded in 1839.
- The first beer was brewed in 1842 by Bavarian brewer Josef Groll.
- Pilsner Urquell was the world's first pale lager.
- It is hopped with Saaz hops, which is a key element in its flavor profile. The soft water they use is also very important.
- Pilsner Urquell is the largest beer producer in the Czech Republic and is also the largest exporter of beer abroad.

Source
Source


Here's a list of their most well known beers:

Pilsner Urquell
Gambrinus Originál 10
Gambrinus Plná 12 / Premium 12
Pilsner Urquell Nefiltrovaný / Unfiltered
Excelent
Master Tmavý 18° / Dark

Source


DSCN2111.JPG

DSCN2117.JPG


Appearance: clear golden color with a medium white head.
Smell: malty and floral.
Mouthfeel: light body, medium carbonation.
Taste: smooth, crispy and fresh, light malt, floral and earthy notes, sharpish bitterness on the back end.

Verdict: Pilsner/Lager has never been my favorite beer style, but there is something special about the Czech beers, I have always liked their pilsners. I guess it's the Czech hops such as Saaz that I like.
Some people say that Pilsner Urquell is not as good as it used to be. I can't comment on that, because I've never tasted the earlier versions. Have you noticed any difference? Anyway, I love this beer! Well balanced and so refreshing! My rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Pilsner Urquell:

BreweryPlzeňský Prazdroj
CountryPilsen, Czech Republic
StylePilsner - Czech
Alcohol4,4%
IBU40
Score4.25/5

DSCN2124.JPG


My latest beer reviews:

Borran's Beer Review: Virmalised

Borran's Beer Review: Must Kuld

Borran's Beer Review: Almost 5 Year Old Orval!

Borran's Beer Review: Lervig Hoppy Joe


Camera: Nikon Coolpix P900/Nikkor 83X Wide Optical Zoom 4.3-357mm f/2.8-6.5.


Please drink responsibly!


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

:)))

One of our national treasures :D Thanks for this nice review my friend.

Cheers!

70244699_375186863412079_2496236130601533440_n.jpg

Kozel is okay, but not as good as Pilsner Urquell! :)..Cheers!

I can see you really are a beer expert :) Cheers :D

70894519_413883979265358_8647954330244087808_n.jpg

I have had Pilsner Urquell, and found it quite good.

Yes, it's a very nice beer! :)

Such a classic beer, and so important in the history of beer, being the forerunner to about 95% of the beer sold in the world.

Yes, it's pretty incredible what they've achieved and how they've affected the history of beer!

Never heard of the Brewery or the name. Perhaps they do not sell it with us or named it differently abroad?

With Bavarian I assume you mean a region abroad and not the Dutch Brewery Bavaria who fought with that region about the name... Jose Groll does not sound Czechian either.
In the Netherlands we have Grolls beer 🤔

Happy Monday 👍💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32