If you could, what would you ask a visually impaired person?

in #life8 years ago

I have been visually impaired for 10 years now (I’m now 24 years old) and over the years I’ve learned quite a lot. After age 10 I lost my central vision up to the point the doctors told me I had only a vision of 5% (I was diagnosed at age 14). My journey was not always fun and as new life phases will come, I will need to learn and overcome new things. And by learning I mean learning actual practical things, skills etc. but also learning how to cope with things, overcoming obstacles.   

                          

I wanted to make it more personal so I’ve put this selfie of me here. This is actually a selfie I sent to my boyfriend earlier today, just before I went to a big high school reunion. I like steem it because you can show your true self, therefore, I chose for this quick, not perfect photo of me haha :) 

So, I am a bit new on Steem it and I’ve written just a few blogs about being visually impaired. (If you would like to read my introduction about me you can do that here). However, as things in daily life, living with severe sight loss, can be very normal to me, it might not be for others. At first sight, people don’t notice that I am visually impaired which sometimes lead to certain awkward or funny situations.

So I was wondering, if you had the chance (which I am giving you now). What are things you would want to know about me (with regard to my sight loss)? Or maybe about visual impaired people in general? Are there things you would otherwise never had the guts to ask someone like me? (Well, what are they? Don’t be afraid haha). Are you perhaps curious about how I cope with certain situations? And what type of situations would you be interested in?   

I am doing this because I am curious what/how others think about visually impaired people (for example, like me). And in what things you might be interested in with regard to visual impairment. Maybe I can rule out certain prejudice (if there are any), or maybe I can just satisfy you curiosity by sharing my experiences.   

Please let me know and don’t hold back! If this post works, I will do a follow up by answering all your questions! :)
p.s. If you are visually impaired yourself, or if you know others who are, feel free to share your own experiences. I would love to read about it!

Sort:  

I'm glad I ran across your post. Thank you for sharing.

I really like that you put yourself out there like that. I am starting to lose my eyesight and each eye is very different, meaning one is worse than the other. Headaches are my biggest challenge because I can't focus well and constantly have to get new glasses due to the deterioration. Maybe you could share how your sight has deteriorated. Did you get glasses and have you had to change lenses often like me?
I also have glaucoma which was diagnosed at age 35. Medication has managed that. What caused your sight loss?

Thank you for sharing :) I will be answering you questions in my next post but for now you I thought I'd send you one of my previous posts about the helping tools I use to study (and thus to read). Maybe you find it helpful. If you have questions where I got these things, just ask :)
https://steemit.com/life/@boosje123/being-visually-impaired-technology-has-made-it-possible-for-me-to-study

What's the biggest struggle for you from going to a person with sight to a person with poor eyesight? I man besids the obvious not being able to rely on them as your main sense anymore what was the hardest thing to get used to I guess not seeing?

(sorry, I am working on my communication skills, please bare with my word fumblings.)

@boosje123

Do ugly boyz hit on you more in hope you won't notice?

After 10 years have you got used of your condition? If so have your other senses increases as a response?

You see 5% now? Do you see enough to get around unassisted or do you use something like those long white canes that blind people use? Do you injure yourself frequently due to your impaired vision? What are the things in your life that you find the most challenging due to your impaired vision? What do you miss the most having gone from regular vision to only 5%? Does the impairment cause headaches from eye strain? Can you read? What have been the biggest adjustments for you? Do you feel people treat you poorly/awkwardly because of the impairment? Do strangers ask you awkward questions when they realize your vision is impaired? Do you cook for yourself? Can you tell us interesting stories about mistakes you have made due to the impairment? What are the most important (to you) new physical skills you have learned to cope with the impairment?

Hi @boosje123... Do you ever get mad, for losing your sight? And do you think it would have been better (easier in some weird way) to have been born visually impaired? Gutsy post.., I like your style!

Kind of a weird question: You haven't always been visually impaired so do you think it is harder for someone to start off blind or to start off with vision and have it deteriorate?

Personally I think the latter because you can't miss what you have never known and depending on when you lose your vision and how much you lose it is much harder to adapt in adulthood than childhood.

For me one of my worst nightmares would be losing my vision. I don't know how I could cope since I love movies, photographs, visual arts and great scenery too.

You know, I really, really enjoy reading your work. Please, you have to join us in #project-positivity :) p.s. sorry for the non-resteem but I've already resteemed you this week!

And a question:

What impact does your visual impairment have on your relationships in general? Family/boyfriend? That would be interesting to know!

I am really grateful to hear that!
I am still a bit new to Steem it.so sorry for asking but you mean by joining #project-positivity, I join the chat? It is a chat right? (how does it work?) Or do you mean that I write in response to the challenges you present to us? I am still learning haha. (And to read everything on steem it is a bit to intense for me since I'm a very slow reader so it happens that I miss a few posts now and then).

I love your story , i am definitely going to follow you! I have to ask, as im sure your other sences would be hightened! Everything must taste better?! As it would also smell better! If not burnt of course! Lol! And thanks for shareing, great story! 😊👍

Are you able to sketch? For example, if you looked at a photograph, could you sketch what you see (without studying it)? That would be very interesting to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63