You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Addicted to Finding the Next Great Experience, Event or Project?

in #life7 years ago

It's like that Zen saying, "If you find Buddha, kill him." Meaning that if you are seeking enlightening and you say you've reached it, you have not. :) Thanks for sharing this post with us and teaching us.

Sort:  

I'm not sure if we are talking about the same thing, but I have been to that place where I found inner peace. It took a lot of work, but I got there and it felt great! Then with all the twists and turns of life, I stopped working at it and found myself back on the outside again. I guess it is because I'm over-all quite content with my life as it is that I'm not driven to get back there. I'm happy to know how it felt and I'm fine with that much. Perhaps one day I will be motivated to get back there again.

Interesting... I am glad to see that you are content with life in general. Most people on this planet cannot say those words honestly. :)

I suppose it all depends on where one is at in their life. Most young people are still full of ambition and have goals to reach. As we check off the goals from our bucket list, our desire for achieving becomes less. There are still lots of things I want to do, but they hold much less importance than simply being happy to be able to enjoy another day in relatively healthy body.

From my own observations, I would say that a lot of older people who are relatively healthy and have enough to feed and shelter themselves are content with life. Many of those who have more than they need tend to never be satisfied with what they have. It seems they fear the unknown of the future and are constantly hoarding 'just in case'. And others who have far too much seem to think that life is a game, and the only way to win is to have the most.

Great comment!! Really well put. I like your observation about older people. I agree vehemently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53