You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Genuinely Curious--What Do Men Actually Expect When They Catcall a Woman?

in #life8 years ago

This is a very interesting topic. I'll include part of what I know, then maybe I'll write more if anyone is interested.....I was a street musician for 12 years. I came in close proximity to atleast 1,000,000 strangers by my estimations. .I saw many men "catcall" women & not once, NEVER, did I see a woman give a favorable response. .Women instinctively know that, men who are good with women aren't gonna try that approach. .Catcalling men know that the women they are catcalling are WAY out of their league anyway. These guys know that they do not have a snowballs chance in hell of scoring with the woman. Therefore, without anything to loose(or gain), they yell something because it's as close as they'll ever get...As I recall, catcalling men are with atleast one other man, if not a group of men.. Maybe he does it to impress his friends?...About it getting more physical, I never saw that. Here in Texas people are more protective of each other overall. .There's a lot of people(men and women) here who would jump in & beat the guys ass...haha.......Boris

Sort:  

Great story. Thanks for sharing. Yes, I don't know any women who like being catcalled. It makes us feel ill at ease, and makes us wonder if the man or men doing it mean us harm.

Your welcome. Although it is inconsiderate, I've never seen anyone do it to be intentionally harmful. It's just that they do not have a better concept to work with. Obviously, some have done it out of animosity, in some cases. Most confrontational situations can be minimized by breaking rapport. Rapport is all about similarity. About the matching "vibe" so to speak. If you mismatch the other persons "vibe', you can avoid a lot of problems.. When I think of rapport, I always think of the Jerry Springer show. While the content of the argument suggests that they disagree, their underlying "vibe" shows that they match each other perfectly. Do you see how that happens?.. You may have to look some reruns on Youtube or wherever to watch old Jerry Springer episodes these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65