Why Motorcycles? Confessions of a Lifelong Rider!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Riding is a lifestyle and about the journey! When my sons and I could not talk about anything else, we could talk about motorcycles.


Designed by an artist!

Why motorcycles you ask (well maybe you didn't but where would be the fun in that?)? Like most boys growing up in the 60s and 70s machines intrigued me. I loved cars, aircraft but most of all motorcycles. It did not matter if they were mini-bikes or big Harleys rumbling down the highway, I was enamored. I desperately wanted an enduro bike or even a mini-bike, but my family did not have the money for that. So I wished for adulthood.

In 1976 at the age of 13 I went to Germany to spend the summer with my Oma. When I arrived at Frankfurt Airport my Uncle picked me up in his Porsche and we headed to Grünstadt in the Bad Dürkheim district on the Autobahn. That is when I met one of the loves of my life. In Germany drivers understand that the left lane is for passing, if a vehicle comes up behind you and flashes their lights, you move over. It is not an option but a requirement. We were going 220 kph (137 mph) in the far left lane and all of a sudden my uncle says “Scheiße!!!” He signals and moves one lane over and it happened. A BMW motorcycle came flying by us like we were standing still. The rider was laid out completely flat, dressed in leathers and moving quickly. I had never seen such a thing. I wanted to be the guy on that beautiful Bavarian wench!


Yours truly having a great day!

That day I resolved I would possess a BMW motorcycle. Just like some men fall in love with Harleys, I had fallen in love with a machine from the land of my father (my mother is from the Rheinland-Pfalz). As I got older I realized my dream came at a high cost. So I went through a series of fine Japanese and British built machines. Yet they were all substitutes, though very lovely. Finally, 25 years later I realized my dream and bought my BMW. Yes it was everything I had hoped for and more. The limiting factor on my motorcycle was me!


Italian art

Dreams are interesting things. While I love my motorcycle I realize lots of marquees make wonderful machines. Triumph is building amazing motorcycles, the new Indians are beautiful, and Japanese motorcycles are fantastic. Harleys and Victorys are cool no matter who you are. And the Italian motorcycles? They are exotic pieces of art. Today, while I ride BMWs, when I go back to work and start looking for that new motorcycle, I will not restrict myself to one manufacturer. I can always do like my youngest son who owns a BMW, a Triumph, two Suzukis, and a Honda, but I probably won't. He and Jay Leno can do that, this guy is a one motorcycle man. But to this day, I will never forget that motorcycle in the left lane of the Autobahn, passing us as we were going 220kph (137 mph). Man it was so cool!


My son hitting the corner

The most wonderful thing about motorcycling is that it is a sport that I share with my brother and sons, both of my boys ride. Happy riding (or dreaming) and keep the shiny side up and the oily side down.


Father and son, for reference I am 5'11" (180cm) and on the left, yeah he is that tall

M.

Photo Credits: All pictures were taken with my Canon EOS60D except the Ducati and the classic BMW hack.

100% follow back, together we can all accomplish great things.

If you like these entries or have any questions or want to offer encouragement please post a comment or hit the upvote button, while making money is not really my concern I would like to know that I am not shouting into an empty canyon.

Hello! I am Mike K. I am an educator, lifelong student, military vet and wannabe musician. I have a love of history, economics, philosophy and motorcycles. I am quickly moving from minarchy to Christian anarchy philosophically and want people to stop meddling. My debut CD should be out soon!

BMWRider
Riding in Tennessee with my son on the Green Eyed Snake

Sort:  

Story like this uplift me . Few days ago i posted patr one of my plans for next year. I was thinking to not post anymore of that but now i will. I am a member on advrider forum for a long time and i have posted my trips there . But i will place them here too.
Regarding your post, it is really nice that you have that kind of connection with your boys , reminds me on me and mine father. We were octane freaks . I have learned all from him , driving , riding , weekend ride and camping somewhere. Man i miss those days. Next year ride will be in his honour.
Keep the stories flow

My sons and I also are classic car fans. I have a 1962 Ford Falcon and Jake has a 1971 Chevy Nova. My eldest son Mick will join the club in the future I am sure. I guess octane lovers is really the right way to put it.

By all means please post your riding stories, I will read all of them.

What is/was the best bike you've ever owned?

I love the BMW, I really do and up to today it is my best bike ever. But, I have ridden a lot of bikes and I will say when I am in the market to buy a new one, my first visit is to the Triumph dealer. After that I will test ride a BMW K1300S.

I need a new bike :) hmmmm.....

Yes you do!

I ride a Triumph Legend. Love to ride!

Those who do not ride will never understand!

A month ago i tested Tiger Explorer 1200. A beast.

I like their entire line up.

Hey Mike,

Thanks for this great story. One of my sons is in New Hampshire right now, learning how to ride better. I look forward to sharing the road with him on a couple of bikes when he gets back.

No, not presently an owner; I'll be renting. But BMW with its shaft drive has also been my dream since childhood. I'm glad you finally attained yours! ;)

Blessings!

You need to get a motorcycle. There are a lot of nice used machines out there.

Great story. I'm on my 2nd BMW. The newest is a R1200GS, re of course. Great bikes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73