Finding the balance between anti-social networking and real life socializing - Having some Family Time.

in #life7 years ago

It is so easy to get caught up with technology, and let it creep into almost every moment of our day. Recently I have found myself checking my phone, and in particular my email, Discord, and Steemit feeds, at almost every ad break, or sometimes during a show we're watching, missing what's been going on. My digital life has been taking precedence over my family life.

Perhaps sometimes we are guilty of over-stimulating ourselves with technology, and the so-called "social networks" are actually becoming anti-social networks to those around you, and you can become disconnected with them. Finding a good balance between online socializing and interacting with people around you can be difficult. Everyone's balance spot is in a slightly different place as well. There is no one size fits all solution.

Last night I decided to put my phone down when I got home, and didn't pick it up again until this morning.

I survived! I actually had a nice relaxing evening with my family. We chatted, joked around, watched a couple of shows together. The evening even seemed to last longer because I wasn't constantly busy doing something. I also feel like I have slept better last night. It was a good night! It reminded me of something really important:

Based on last night's experiment of leaving my phone in another room all night, I think I'm going to introduce weekly "Tech Free Nights" at home for a while. Let's see how well that goes down - the kids are going to LOVE me!!

Wish me luck!!
_bmj_teamaustralia_2_1680x8400.png

Team Australia and Team South Africa banners designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Haha! Thanks:)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.5% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @bmj
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bmj to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

More people are catching on to the benefits of "unplugging". Many have said that the time away from online interactions gives them a renewed focus when they return.

I like to get off the grid from time to time. It can be very refreshing.

This post has received a 1.32 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bmj.

The Future is Digital my man. But we weren't born that way...at least not yet.

Yes it is, but there's no substitute for personal interaction.

Balance is key in life. and it is important to distinctly know when too much of a good thing becomes overtaking in ones life. Family is the most important thing in life and its important to remember that!

Cheers

Dante

100% agree. It's easy to lose sight of that sometimes.

So true my friend I think the key is to find the right balance that works for you

I don’t ditch my phone for a whole evening a week but I have made it a point for a long while now that when I get home each night I have an hour sitting in the lounge with my wife and my phones in the room with my computer and we chat or watch a show and have time for each other

After that I am on my pc bouncing between Steemit and other sites and editing photos but popping out regularly 😎

Yeah, balance is the key. I'll try the cold turkey approach for a while and see how we go.

We all are different what works for one may not for another, do what works best for you my friend

When I had a vacation with the family and grandkids a couple of months ago, only allowed myself to check my phones for half an hour first thing in the morning and half an hour t the end of the day i have to be honest it was quite liberating

I went 10 months without a phone when I was travelling in South America cos it got stolen near the start of my trip. Can't say I really missed it.

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

That is an important discussion you have raised and found that time out, is good for oneself. We live life too fast and too soon the children have grown and you wonder where the time was spent @bmj quality time without distractions is rewarding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48