What Mother's Day Mean to Me

in #life5 years ago

It was Mother's Day yesterday and my aunt made this jelly cake. (In my previous post "I Love Nasi Lemak: A Southeast Asian Dish That You Must Try" I also wrote about another savoury cake that she made.)

So naturally, here goes the first point...

1. Good food. Lots and lots of good food.

I'm lucky that my family has good culinary genes. So during occasions and festivals where we gather at my grandma's house, I'm always looking forward to the yummy creations.

Some look humble and plain but the taste makes you ask for more servings.

My little niece had asked for at least another four servings.
(I'm a fan of chocolate goods too. Mm.)

And some are a bit fancier. I've an aunt who loves to bake and make fancy food.

There were many other dishes but I didn't manage to take photos. Maybe next time ;)

2. Meeting my favourite cousin and getting together with relatives

When I was young, I actually didn't like gatherings because I thought it was a day where all the adults come together to condemn you.
But as I grew, I learnt to filter negative things away and focus on the positive things instead.

Getting updated with what my same-age cousin is doing in her life now, and telling her what's going on in mine. Exchanging fashion tips and our personal secrets. That's the best thing about having a childhood friend who grows up together with you :)

3. Showing appreciation to my mother

I didn't grow up having a close relationship with my mom, but I know we are both trying to improve it.

I gave her a red packet, at the back I wrote blessings like wishing her to be healthy and happy always. I think it's the first time I gave her a red packet. She was rather surprised, haha.

Growing up in a traditional Chinese family, we don't have a culture that we talk about everything openly and give hugs and kisses.

So a small action like that is really actually saying, "Thank you for everything, mom."

Just like how I know one of her ways of showing affection is by cooking healthy and delicious meals for us every day :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations, you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of @newbieresteemday's top posts for the day!

newbieresteemday.png

Do you want to meet more people, get an answer to your questions and/orpromote your post? Join the Steem Terminal Discord server HERE.

Congratulations @blueberyl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wow! Quite an astonishing post this is. You had a blast of a celebration. It's always fun and memorable uniting with other family members. BTW, mother's Day celebrations will happen here on the 26 of May. Looking forward to it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I see. Where are you from? I hope you enjoy it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm from Cameroon.

I just checked your profile and see you're from Singapore. It's on my travel list 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice, wow Cameroon is so far from Singapore! Do come here if you can, I hope I can even read about your article if you decide to write a travel journal about Singapore!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it's far but not beyond reach. The flight is $1044 from Cameroon but I don't plan to come from Cameroon because I have to follow up some things in others countries. I will be coming from somewhere closer if I have to.

Posted using Partiko Android

I see. If I have the chance, I want to visit far too

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @blueberyl
It's been a while since you were active on the platform, so it seems.
I was wondering if you were still here?

In order to keep the Steem Power delegation, I ask for two things:

  • be active on the platform: publish a quality post regularly (at least once or twice a week should be doable) and engage with the community
  • power up your earnings instead of cashing them out.

Since it has been 10 days since your last post, and a week since your last comment, I would really like to hear if you're still around or not, so my Steem Power delegation won't go to waste. There are so many people in need...

I hope you're still around. Please let me know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49