Trying To Study In A "No Man's Land"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

                                                  

For four years now I have been a student in a constantly decadent University, whether from a general budget point of view or that it hasn't had any water running in three years and no electricity in about a year. And by now that's pretty normal for me at this point, I mean, it's what I have grown accustomed to, the professors and students are making due with just a board and some close to drying markers for whole semesters and recurring to online classes, heck, I learned basic C# programming by waiting for the professor to finish writing the code part by part and presenting tests on pencil and paper.

I know, it takes a real trooper to endure that over all this time *said in a fake smug tone*, but it's weird and kinda sad watching the place where you have spent a good part of your life in just crumble and being taken over by vegetation and wildlife (just bugs, birds and snakes) and the constant fear of being robbed because the authorities have pretty much given up on us. 

It's not just sad for the students that have to undergo all that to get a degree, at least they can switch Universities pretty much at will with some paperwork, the real effort comes from the small amount of faculty that stills teaches on those circumstances. Imagine not being able to fully dictate your career, being paid close to nothing, having the burden of traveling to the outskirts of town where the University is and all that while having high education degrees and specializations. And to think it's still considered the highest 'alma mater' in the country education wise. 

But even with all that I still have this sensation of pride for being able to withstand all that while watching countless fellow students depart for easier studies or for a better life outside of the country, now I can just see 20% of the people I started with and a handful of professors. But now that my career is almost done the feeling that if I can do this I can do everything is very present with me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @blackishtooth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52