4 o'clocky: Bullies

in #life6 years ago (edited)

4 o'Clocky?
A while ago, I came across an article written by @brittandjosie about the "best" time to submit a blogpost to get maximum, and even worldwide exposure.
She invented the term 4 o'clocky and now posts a blogpost every day at 4 o'clock local time with that title. Most of the time, she submits a blogpost about something that keeps her busy and is important enough to share. And I've come to totally enjoy reading her 4 o'clockies!
So I though, why not? Why not take the great example of @brittandjosie, and do a quick post at 4 o'clock about whatever happened or has been on my mind that day. So here we go!

I was first in doubt of writing a 4 o’clocky today, because I’m really tired, and have a long evening ahead. Then I was considering writing a quicky-4 o’clocky today, because my head really isn’t in writing a post on Steem. But then I thought, no, I post pictures in the morning, and started the 4 o’clocky to tell all you Steemians about what was keeping me busy that day. Well, today it is bullying. And aside from what is happening in the cryptoworld these days (which is also keeping me busy), I don’t mean bulls in that context. No, what is keeping me busy is bullying at school.
Since September, my youngest son, 12 years old, is in high school, and he really looked forward to it! But in reality, it has been a disaster. My son is a quiet and fun intelligent boy, with an adult sense of humor, and hobbies such as programming, fire juggling, gaming and building all kinds of stuff. He’s not into soccer or anything, because he finds that way too agressive. And in school, he doesn’t really fit in. Never has, probably never will.
Now that’s not really a problem, but apparently that makes him a target at school. So the last few weeks his smartphone has been smashed on the floor twice, he’s been beaten three times (that he wanted to tell us about), and a few days ago, during a school trip, he’s been beaten up again, and his backpack with all his stuff in it (food, wallet, smartphone) had been thrown away.
Response of the school: “boys will be boys”, he’ll just have to learn to live with it.
Now, it may be just me, but I feel that this is a VERY dangerous way of thinking... We live in a society, and this society has rules. And if you start using excuses for misbehavior like this, then where does it end? This is creating a society which says like “yeah, you better not wear a skirt if you go outside, because you might get raped. You know, because boys will be boys”!

What do you think? What’s your take on this? Am I being overprotective here? Does he need to harden up, and just let things happen? Or should I teach him to fight and beat them up before they can beat him (one of the advices the school is giving)?
Let me know in the comments!

250BF4EA940249D5829538B645A989BE.jpeg

I am a witness, did you know?
What? What's a witness??? Read all about it here: My declaration of Steem Witness
Or you can vote for me straightaway using Steemconnect by clicking here!

Sort:  

@bjornb My hart aches! I wish for your Son that the bullying would stop. Maybe ask the boys All the bullying boys for a cola at home and talk to them on their level but Thats a harsh thing very difficult i wish you strength. And school has a anti pest protocol so I would go to the principal and take him by the balls and ask him what he would do if it was his Son!

And I love My 4ocklocky on your end and your blog.
Thanxforsharing

Britt

Thank you for your nice and supporting comments! And yup, that's what we did yesterday evening: we grabbed the school with the balls, and asked them what they're going to do about this, and what if it were their sons.
They promised to look into this and act upon this as soon as possible! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74