What I learned in the gym

in #life6 years ago

image

So I've been blessed with a great work opportunity that has allowed me to move on from the gym that I previously worked at. Not that I hated going to work every day but there were some thing that got under my skin during my time there.

but who really wants to hear me complain?

I just wanted to share some things that I learned professionally and about health and fitness that I hadn't really experienced before. Hopefully something that I talk about will trigger some kind of change, or encourage you to keep pressing forward with your wellness journey.

  1. People really do need help

One of the reasons I decided to get into personal training was to help people learn how to move their bodies, and add years to their lives.

With that said, it would be obvious that there was a need for personal training as help, but it wasn't always how I expected it to be.

Some people really do need you with them every step of the way. There's just no way they would know where to start or how to be consistent with their workout plan with out the assistance of a trainer.

There are some who really just need a workout partner or someone to get through their workout with. Some people are very strong willed and my need someone to help them adjust their intensity throughout their workout. I've had guys who go SUPER hard and would probably hurt themselves if they didn't have anyone to go over phases and proper rest with them. I've had others who needed the extra encouragement to get through sets or maybe even a spot towards the back end of their workouts.

Some people just have gotten a hold of some bad information, and needed to make simple corrections.

But there was really way more to offer than I expected.

  1. Before anything else... Be great!

I really do think that being a personal trainer is a great way to help people with their health, and being that it has to do with peoples health, I'd say there is a right and a wrong way to do it.

AND

It's also an opportunity to be creative, and take on different challenges.

The gym I worked at had a set a pre-set schedule for me to follow that I didn't feel gave my clients and I the best opportunity to reach our goals.

I'm a fan of following rules for the most part, rules are there for a reason but I worked circles around the schedule. I kinda just did what I wanted and it was the best thing I could do if I wanted to stay true to helping the people I trained.

The only rule was I just couldn't say no to anyone, if they were a member and they came to me I had to offer them something.

I couldn't just say no because I didn't want to take time to figure out what could be done. Which made for some interesting situations.

But yeah, be great!

  1. Energy is real

One of the BEST things I learned is that the people that become your regulars, 99.99% of the time are people that you like. These are people don't mind working hard and getting after it, but you can have fun with them too.

And something that I didn't realize then that I'm noticing now is that you can really help give people extra energy for their day if its time that you both enjoy working together and challenging each other.

You can have someone come dragging in and leave with a bounce in their step, if you’re getting some quality work in.

image

But over all I'm glad I got to work with and train some amazing people. Building my experience there was everything that it needed to be and more valuable than I thought it would be at one point.

Sort:  

@smartbot tip 1

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 6200 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you send SBD to resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

1 SMART = 0.04 SBD

How To Use SmartCash?

Σ$$$ Tipped @bigtakosensei Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.117 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.12 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 9.68% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86