Never Sell your car to a Dealer

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So yesterday was a bitter sweet day for the wife, we sold her first car. In my defense she has been bugging me for months to get rid of it, and when we finally do.... She is sad, sometimes you just can't win. We first were going to trade it in, when we bought a new car... We were offered 1000 and 1600 dollars for the car. I said are you crazy? They responded sell it yourself then. That is exactly what I did, put it up for 4000, and had it sold for 3500 cash in less than 24 hours. I did have to put up with 40 plus texts and phone calls, but hey that is bunch of money. So be prudent, and make sure to do your homework before you go car shopping.

Sort:  

When i bought my first car for 25000, i came back the next few days and wanted to know how much the dealer profits and pretended to sell the car back to them and was offered 17000. So that's how much they are making, and when it was time to sell i sold through online ad

Ya, they told me that they were losing money on the care selling it to me at that price, I laughed.

Going to a dealer for a used car or service on a car out of warranty, bring an entire tub of KY as they're gonna ram ya hard!

Ya, that is where they make their money I hear.

I think if you are lazy or don't care about the extra money being given 1500 for your car is sweet. But for the 99% that would like the cash, and I am in that percentage, I will always sell my own car. Solid advice :)

Ya, I have bills that the money can go to, and shoot it is easily a week worth of pay if not more.

car dealers are thinking about their own earnings. This thought is turning them into a demon. I feel sorry for what happened to you. Dealer are a complete blood sucking vampire. @bigram13

Very cool that you were able to sell it yourself. We bought another car recently and the seriously low balled us. I talked them up a bit but I still got screwed. I just wasn’t feeling like selling it myself. Now I regret that decision.

It's a tough choice, man. I think this car is an important moment in your daily life.

you say it is true you should not act without calculation. a turkish proverb tells his feet according to his quilt.

ya definitely sell it your self if you can. cause its totally not worth the trade in if the care is it really good condition.

Yep. They have to make money off the trade. And making only a few hundred dollars isnt enough. So they will way under buy from you.

Ya, I don't fault them, they are a business for sure, but if you can do it yourself, it might be worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50