I don't understand?

in #life6 years ago

So just about every week we see a athlete come out and tell us how life is not fair for people, or that there is systemic racism or violence against minorities. Well last weekend in Chicago, 66 people were shoot and 12 died in one weekend..... and we get crickets from all the pros doing so much for the cause.... I mean I sure a couple probably tweeted something out like " Shake my head, we need to stop this" and was like my part is done. I feel everyone of them just lost all credibility for not piping up about it. But I will give them a out. I don't know whether there is not a white person to blame, and that is why nothing is said, or if the news won't cover it. Because it doesn't fit the story-line of systemic hate and prejudice that they are trying to spread around. I just looked up some statistics and in 2011 the number one cause of death for a black male between the ages of 15-19 homicide 50% 20-24 Homicide 49.2% 25-34 homicide 34.2% https://www.cdc.gov/healthequity/lcod/men/2011/LCODBlackmales2011.pdf These numbers are crazy, and I do believe that athletes should be giving back to the communities but speaking out about it on tv, not going to cut it. That is just a purely selfish way of making you feel better. 636240539518620654-USP-NFL-Arizona-Cardinals-at-San-Francisco-49ers.jpg

Sort:  

Not really anything I can add to this. You hit the nail on the head. There is always an agenda and unfortunately, it doesn't always match the needs.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The outrage that athletes have was over police brutality and the unfair treatment of vets. The stuff you're talking is people within the community killing eachother. You can't fix that worth athletes or celebs crying about it. It's not their fault nor should it be their responsibility to make change. You leave leave that to the people in the actual community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94