Friend or not a Friend

in #life7 years ago

So being in construction, I always get people asking me to take a look at house stuff. It does get old, but I do enjoy helping people out. So today I had a friend whose water heater went out. It usually takes me a hour to two hours to put it in. He asked me what I was going to charge, and I said 30 bucks in material, he had already picked up a water heater, and that they needed to just supply dinner for tonight. He said deal, but he still wanted to pay.

So it took about 2 hours, and we had pizza and wings that they bought. So at the end of the night I said it was 30 bucks and he threw down 140. I took 40 bucks and gave back the 100. Then it turned into a dance of who was going to get their will. Whether he was going to get me to take the money, or if I could get him to keep it. I feel that since he offered that was good enough for me. Sometimes I do get taken advantage of by people, and that does get old. So I have gone too the you get 1 freebie rule, and then I charge. Unless it is something super easy, sometimes you just got to put your foot down. Any Ideas.

Sort:  

I think for him to give you $140 when you said you wanted $30 was really overkill. I get that he was trying to be nice but it can get very awkward when someone tries to force excessive cash on you like that. Especially that he made you dinner too

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 53.0% @funny-gifs upgoat, thanks to @bigram13
It consists of $11.57 vote and $0.34 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigram13 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Sometimes freebies will cost you,nothing for free in this world whether you enjoy doing it sometimes you got to stand your ground or else people will use you

This post has received a 4.54 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bigram13. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

That's what friends mean, without seeing anything. Even you back 100, and choose to take 40 dollars...

You are a good friend to help and it was good of him to offer. Good stuff.

I feel if I take his money, it is not a friendship. Or I am a prostitute?

That is what friend should be, 1 Freebie rule is really a good thing. If you are friend, then you would not use your friend for your own benefit. that is my idea.

This post has received a 2.67 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bigram13.

You are good friend

14 of 15 friends will betray you.

Haha, I would say 12 out of 15

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42