Something to think about?

in #life7 years ago

I have not posted in quite a while, but my daughter @giantbear nagged me to start writing again.  I have been quite ill for a while, and writing can possibly help me to stay sane. I am glad to be back to support all my previous followers.  I am very optimistic about Steemit, and you will see much more of me in the following months.  

My husband and I have been married for 47 wonderful years. And we have been looking after our parents one by one during their last days. As we have no siblings who can help us, it has always fallen on us. The last one my husbands’ mother is now 95 years old and still going strong.  It can be extremely frustrating as my mother in law has dementia, and some days can be extremely difficult. 

She repeats a lot and I am not a very patient person. I recently saw on television how someone assaulted an old man in an old age home, and I can truly understand why this happens. I will never ever do anything to hurt her, but I fully understand how this can happen.  I will honestly never put her in a home because of all the abuse in these homes, but she is driving me totally crazy, and I feel as if I can spank her like a child as that is what she is like now. Even the bible says that old people become children again.  

When you walk past her all she asks repeatedly is for something to eat and drink, even while she is busy eating. Then she has these silly things that drives me crazy.  She often shouts that she has no idea where she is, even if she is safe in her bed. She eats porridge with a fork, and never eats with a spoon. 

This is totally driving me insane and I just have to accept it, as she is old and I was taught to respect my elders. She eats lollipops which I think replaces dummies. While she eats lollipops, she is deadquiet.  I have a whole stack of lollipops stored next to my bed.  

Is there anyone out there who knows how difficult it is to look after old people 24 -7? I am not complaining, or perhaps I am, but I hope to feel better when I get this off my chest. Is there anyone out there with the same problems?    

Please follow me @bigbear


Sort:  

I can totally associate with you. My elderly parents came to stay with me. My mom have diabetes and Binswangers disease. This disease cause lots of small strokes in the brain. That is now a very simple explanation as I am not a doctor. The symptoms is similar to demensia but it also affects her walking. She can not really walk anymore. She only gets out of the wheelchair onto the bed. She is on diapers as well as a pubic cathether. So she is very difficult, fight with us all the time and it feels like she dont appreciate anything me and my dad do for her. Then my dad is also starting to get Alzheimers or Dementia. He forgot where he put things, what was said to him, struggle to find places although he is been living here almost 2 years. What drives me crazy the most is that if he cannot find his things then it is stolen. So yes... I know how hard it is and it goes with so much guilt. I lose my patience and say things that I regret afterwards. Then I think.... what if she do not wake up tomorrow......

I know just how you feel, sometimes I shout at her and feel bad afterwards in my head I swear, tonight I say im sorry in prayer yet it does not help as tomorrow I do the same.

Congratulations @bigbear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thank you very much, it was such a nice surprise when I woke up this morning andsay this it makes one feel as if you really are not as bad as you think. Love writing but my age makes me write things that the yough people might not like so hope to fix it thank you.

Followed! My name is Rich and I'm friends with your daughter (in fact I just sent her a comment). I was never burdened with parents so I can't truly understand your frustration, my only advice is to be sure to take a few minutes a day for yourself. Breathe deep!!!

Hi mom, @bigbear so glad you decided to start writing again. This will help you get rid of a lot of frustration. I will give you all @richq11 posts to read. Amazing guy and I am so glad I met him!

Now you have me curious and I will have to follow @richq11 :-)

You made me blush... I didn't think that was possible!

You underestimate yourself sir!

Sir??? I was an enlisted man- I worked for a living lol!!! I just see myself as a crazy old man!

Not nearly as crazy as you think...lol! Seen loads of crazy people and you are not one of them!

Thanks... I just write to excise my demons... Never think I'm very good at it.

Assumption...is the mother of all f...ups! You are a good writer...lol

Best of luck to you; thanks for sharing your struggles, it must be a difficult time. I guess taking care of our elderly parents is our way of thanking them for taking care of us during our difficult childhoods...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39