A dangerous and memorable honeymoon trip.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"Why the hell we have chosen this drive?"I thought. He is shouting at each and every living and non living organism coming in his way. He is not even leaving a cat,dog or a man.We met this particular driver in Salem city in Salem district in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu.One of my aunts are staying in that place. In India its a custom for relatives to give a treat to newlyweds in their house. Her treat towards us was pending since long time. As Yercaud- a hill station which we were planning to go were near to Salem me and my wife thought of paying her a visit.After having breakfast in her house we thought of leaving to Yercaud at 9 am.For that we got this cab driver. In that scorching heat of summer in Salem he hesitated to put AC in the cab. After arguing for quite sometime he had put the AC in very low speed. We felt he was irritable since beginning of journey. He came two hours late also.Yercaud hillstation is only 32 km from Salem and 1515 metres above sea level.
Yercaud-Hill-Station-in-TamilNadu-696x464.jpg

[image source] http://www.tamilnadutouristplaces.com/yercaud-hill-station-tamilnadu/

The place is infact just above the Salem town. The journey towards is very steep.There are about 20 hairpin bends in that upward journey.There were lot of monkeys in the way. In the meantime he asked us a question"Sir have you came to Yercaud before?" As I was new to this place I told no. I thought he wanted to tell me some good places to visit.Then he said" Sir I am also coming first time in this hill station. But rest assured. Somehow we will reach". "Oh!no. so you have no idea about where we are going.That's great!"I thought in my mind.Next it started raining heavily. He was rushing through the hairpin loops.
When we reached up the third loop he told" Sir actually there is some problem with this brake and engine . That's why I hesitated to switch on the AC . If I stop the car I wont be able to start the car again. I tried to repair it but I couldn't that's why I was late.

Clerks_bear_driving_6525.jpg

[image source]https://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/WhoIsDriving

At this time we froze in fear. Both of us wanted to see our parents badly. We are infact that much above the sea level that it can be considered as an abyss. If the car stops now people in Salem below can get our skeletons in powdered form. When the monkeys are rushing towards the car in that rainy evening in an unknown terrain he rushed the car forward crying aloud "Anjeneyaaa swameee kappathungoo!!!"(Lord Anjeneya(Monkey god in Hindu mythology) help us please). Lucky for him and us we reached safely and no monkey got hit by the car. HAIL HANUMAN SWAMI!!!
kid_hanuman_cartoon-t3.jpg

[image source] http://www.bhmpics.com/kid_hanuman_cartoon-wallpapers.html

Sort:  

Congratulations @bhaski! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71030.89
ETH 3824.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52