You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Search for an Identity

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Well, you are me and I am you. That is to say I have no specific identity, I am a renaissance man who likes art, who likes writing short stories and poetry, who enjoys photography, travel and presenting motivational ideas. As to groups, I avoid them. I simply enjoy what I do, being alone (Simon & Garfunkel, I am a rock I am an island) and I like conversing with those I am comfortable with, so I don't always try to fit in. So let me say a few cliches, be true to yourself, don't try to be something you're not. My best posts are in poetry, but I know there are very few readers on steemit that really understand it or appreciate the words I present. So I see myself as an ambassador for modern poetry, and find pleasure in that. It's like being back in school, where some of the most interesting kids never get to sit and eat lunch with the so called cool kids.

Sort:  

Wonderfully said! You know, I used to refer to myself as a Renaissance Man, but I feel undeserving of the title. I dabble in a lot of things, so jack-of-all-trades apply to me as well. As much as I can, I do try to be true to myself, even if that's a detriment at times. I like your analogy about high school, it really does seem like that sometimes. I guess we should all just try to enjoy ourselves while we're here. Thanks for the reminders! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65