OUR MEMORIES HAVE A MUSICAL SCORE / #1 Cheeseburger in Paradise

in #life7 years ago (edited)

OUR LIVES ARE SCORED WITH MUSIC, EVERY MOMENT AND PLACE HAS A SONG

I enjoy listening to oldies radio stations because each song transports me back to specific times in my life. Some songs remind me of difficult times, but most bring back memories of being young and having fun. There are some songs that no matter where I am will cause my mind to flash pictures of where I was when I first heard it and how it made me feel.

I wanted to share one such song with you and in the future perhaps share others. The song is Cheeseburger in Paradise by Jimmy Buffet. The first time I heard it was in 1978, my wife and I were on vacation in Ocean City, New Jersey. We were lying together on the beach snacking on chips and listening to our transistor radio. I recall how happy the song seemed and how it was such a fitting anthem for a week at the beach.

ocean city.jpg

You will have to forgive the quality of these photos, they have aged some since 1978.
Ocean City, New Jersey

ocean city 1.jpg

I am sorry to say this is a photo of me.

ocean city 3.jpg

This is my wife, who is still with me after 45 years. At the time of this picture she was pregnant with our first child.


Cheeseburger in Paradise

by Jimmy Buffet

Tried to amend my carnivorous habits.
Made it nearly seventy days,
Losin' weight without speed,
Eatin' sunflower seeds,
Drinkin' lots of carrot juice and soakin' up rays.

But at night I'd have these wonderful dreams
Some kind of sensuous treat.
Not zucchini, fettuccini, or bulgur wheat,
But a big warm bun and a huge hunk of meat.

Cheeseburger in paradise.
Heaven on earth with an onion slice.
Not too particular, not too precise.
I'm just a cheeseburger in paradise.

Heard about the old-time sailor men,
They eat the same thing again and again;
"Warm beer and bread," they say, "could raise the dead."
Well, it reminds me of the menu at a Holiday Inn.

But times have changed for sailors these days.
When I'm in port I get what I need;
Not just Havanas or bananas, or daiquiris,
But that American creation on which I feed!

Cheeseburger in paradise
Medium rare with mustard'd be nice
Heaven on Earth with an onion slice
I'm just a cheeseburger in paradise.

I like mine with lettuce and tomato
Heinz 57 and French fried potatoes
Big kosher pickle and a cold draught beer
Well, good god almighty, which way do I steer...

...for my cheeseburger in paradise?
Makin' the best of every virtue and vice.
Worth every damn bit of sacrifice
To get a cheeseburger in paradise.
To be a cheeseburger in paradise.
I'm just a cheeseburger in paradise.

I like mine with lettuce and tomato
Heinz 57 and French fried potatoes
Big kosher pickle and a cold draught beer
Well, good god almighty, which way do I steer?

Thanks you YouTube for this wonderful video!


NOW TELL ME DON'T FEEL GOOD AFTER LISTENING TO THAT!

And tell me where you where and what you were doing when you first heard Jimmy sing Cheeseburger in Paradise

Sort:  

I know many people who have memories tied to music. I find it interesting, because I don't. Songs can produce emotions in me, but no memories.

I basically lived without radio and TV most of my formative years.
The HS cheerleaders did a skit with Rock Me Amadeus. (I had no idea what it was about)

I learned all the music sometime in the late 80s.
So, I can only wonder about people who have memories when listening.

Interesting, well perhaps now you have a memory to go with "Cheeseburger in Paradise." It can become your Steemit anthem.

Great post! I love the old school)

Thanks @annaguzc, we always return to the music me grew up with.

Great post @beginningtoend. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks @reenamathew, I enjoyed putting it together.

You are welcome :)

good memories i return to best life when i was child

Thanks @mahaelsayed, childhood was a great time.

yes i think old is gold

I have always loved Jimmy Buffet ! Brings back some awesome memories ! Thanks for sharing it was great to hear it again ! Upped and resteemed ! I would love it if you could resteem this post back , for me ! If not no problem ! Steem on my friend !
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@karenmckersie/steemfest-2017-will-be-held-in-lisbon-portugal-nov-123-4-5

Done deal.

Your awesome thanks ! Have a great day , good night ! I will dream about cheese burgers in paradise ! 🍔🍔🍔😴

I am still young but u have a strong taste in old fasioned music. This is the first time I've heard this song and it's amazing :)

Its a classic you have to love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42