Overcoming my biggest fear - Learning to swim at 30!- And for the best reason ever...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I never learned to swim as a child.  When we had swimming lessons at school, I made my excuses so I didn't have to join in, from tummy aches to making myself sick. I was terrified of the water! Our parents never took us swimming either so we just never tried.

As I grew up, we went on various family holidays. I remember going to Butlins at Skegness when I was about 9 and looking longingly at the indoor waterfall and huge water slides, thinking if only I could go in with my friends. But, no matter how much I wanted to, the thought of drowning was too intense and I just watched on from the side while my friends were having fun. 

At age 13, we went on a family holiday to Majorca, my first family holiday abroad! I was so excited to be there but then my heart sank when I realised most of the kids played in the pool all day in the sun. I felt so left out and isolated and spent all my time sat on a sun lounger by the pool watching everyone else have fun. 

(source Zoopla)

When I was 18, I went on a 18-30's holiday to Ibiza and as you do when you are 18, had a few too many alcoholic beverages. I looked at the hotel pool and thought to myself 'how hard can it be?' In my stupid drunken state I decided to face my fear head on and dived into the deep end of the water. Needless to say it was the most sobering experience of my life! I panicked as I couldn't tell which way was up and which way was down! I realised I had no idea how to make myself float to the top! I flapped my arms and legs as fast as I could and somehow managed to get myself to the surface at the side of the pool. I had, in my panick, breathed in some water and struggled to breath. it took me a good few minutes to recover and was traumatised by the whole experience. 

Roll on 7 years to being 25 years old. I gave birth to my son. I was determined that he would be able to swim so that he wouldn't have the same awful experiences that I had endured through the years. So I took him to swimming lessons  from 6 months old. By the time he was 5, he was swimming really well and I was so proud of him! 

Then one day he asked me why I didn't go swimming with him and it broke my heart to think I was still missing out all these years later, but this time I was missing out on valuable time with my son.

This was the moment I decided to take adult swimming lessons. I didn't want my son to feel let down by me by not joining in with him and I didn't want to pass my fear of water on to him by explaining that I was terrified. So that day, I contacted the local leisure centre and paid for adult swimming lessons.

I was so scared the first few times of getting in the pool, but everyone there was in the same boat. (Pun intended!) After about 3 months, I started to feel more confident and decided to venture into the deep end. I would love to say it all went smoothly, but it didn't.  I had a few drowning moments and swallowed too much water and couldn't breath. But I never gave up. 

7 years on, I now swim 3 or 4 times a week and I love it! I am still terrified of deep water and I have never swam in the sea, but I recently swam a 5km swimathon to raise money for a Bulldog charity called the Edward Foundation! 

I am so proud of myself for acheiving this life goal and overcoming a huge fear.  But most if all, I love the fact that I no longer have to sit and watch everyone else having fun from the side of the pool, I am in the pool playing water polo with my boy! 

Thank you for reading @beautifulbullies xx


Sort:  

If you can swim 5 km you have NOTHING to be frightened of. Swimming in the sea is amazing.

Anyway, congrats on your achievement.

thank you so much 😊 I know it is an irrational fear now that I can swim and hopefully one day I will be able to conquer it completely. I am so proud of what I have acheived so far though. 5km was a huge deal for me, even if it was an indoor swimming pool lol 😀 thanks for your comment ☺

You proved that age is just a number, i hope to see you like this soon
T677-MM-BT-GR-00_640.jpg

haha i love it!😀😀

try try again till u success . u act upon and get reward at last beautifulbullies

thank you 😊 we should never give up on anything in life if we truly believe in it

Not going to lie I can't imagine not knowing how to swim!!

awww hey @steemitqa! Yea it was a nightmare growing up. so glad I took the plunge though (pun intended again 😂😂) my jokes are rubbish lol

It is in deed a great accomplishment. Congratulations. It is amazing how we can do "impossible" things happen for people we love.
In this post I will suggest you the following:

  • My first suggestion is "Excuse my english it is not my main language".
  • When you write the tags post, check them carefully before posting. If you type one character in a wrong way, It can limit the visibility of your post. I.e: acheivements it's not the same as achievements. In fact that may cause you less visits and readings. I recommend you checking the tag list of steemit. -Clic Here- You can order the list by payouts then, you can check the most valuables or the ones with most views. So you can choose some categories, that apply better to your post ( I.e. life blog story writing love) Those five, IMHO could be 5 good tags based on your post and popular tags.
  • Sometimes we want to create our own tags. This is not bad at all, but, when we are starting our path within Steemit, it is much better use the most popular ones. Later on, when you get a reputation level of 74 you could make your own tags.

Now please, let me give you some tips about your blog:

  • When you resteem too many posts from other writers, as soon as someone comes to your blog, it will see just posts from other people. This could lead someone to walk away and never see who you are and what you are writing. In my beginnings I've used to do that, then, I saw how the best writers just do resteem to very important posts they want to share. I know, We cannot help them all. It is important to make a profile of your own and show it to all of us. This is why I strongly suggest you to make a priority your posts and second the resteem actions.

Thanks for letting me give you some advices. It is a real pleasure for me! Anytime you need me, just drop me a comment. Have a great evening.

img

Saturno Mangieri - Blockchain Tech Adviser. img Steemit || Website img

Thank you so much for your great advice! Yes, I hadn't really thought of the resteeming like that, I just though they were great posts and wanted more people to see them. But that is a great point.
Thank you for the tagging information too, again, I hadn't really thought about the implications of using the best tag, just using a relevant tag!
I will definitely be making adjustments to my future posts based on these points. Thank you so much for stopping by! I will also follow you now to see what other great tips I can pick up from you! :D

I have also mentioned you in my latest post and taken your advice, so thank you! I hope it is to your liking :)

Thank you! That's great. I will check it out. I'm glad to know that those tips will help you in Steemit. Cheers!

Great. Thanks for sharing. I vote for you and begin to follow you. And Resteemed...

Thank you so much! 😊

UV!!

Then one day he asked me why I didn't go swimming with him and it broke my heart to think I was still missing out all these years later, but this time I was missing out on valuable time with my son.

That is telling right there eh??? wow.

Good for you, it seems you will do anything for bulldogs like you alluded to on my page this week

LOL

You are making great posts here!

I value your comments and fun a whole lot.

Have a good day.

I tried to teach my dad to swim in his 50's or when he was maybe 60.

That did not go well, he was stubborn and gets frustrated easily.

I guess it is one of those things that you have to really want to learn to swim, nobody can help you until you are ready to drown a whole lot haha 😂

You've come a long way with swimming. Well done !

Thank you so much! I only drown maybe twice a month now lol

haha reason why lifeguards still have a job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65