How to deal with Unsolicited Advice...(Don't push your agenda on others)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I will preface this by stating that I am sure most people mostly mean well most of the time.
giphy (15).gif

I am leaving my phone off. If I hear one more half-baked idea from people who have more chaos in their lives than I do..........just STFU! :)
Nobody is in your shoes but you! (I'm assuming you have shoes or wear them, this is a big leap of faith and making assumptions on my part, Namaste.)🙄

In life, shit happens and sometimes people just want to vent or hear something light hearted. In my life "light hearted" usually means lectures of some form of New Agey horsecrap that is coming from people who tend not to follow their own advice. If someone is going through a break-up or a sinus infection, I am doubting they want to hear how they are closed off from the magical virtues of Carrot Juice or that a certain Yoga pose will open them up to wealth.
Tumblr_nroymjxRdb1u6fo8vo1_500-1.gif
When someone asks others for good vibes or to just talk person to person that does not include "lessons" about spirituality, dietary advice and/or making the conversation somehow about the virtues of navel gazing. There are benefits to eating and living a certain way but throwing them at people who clearly are not asking for them is just being a self-indulgent lecturer. The next time someone tells me to put a crystal on my head or just "DRINK MOAR CARROT JUICE", I'm going to tell them where to shove those Carrots... ;)

DRRsm5e.gif
...till next time stay thirsty my friends and remember no matter what you are going through just get a Colonic and all will be well!
DQmVh693jZJtvhfHNLeccXZNxgaRYcGhQTLm5w5ZBXXwRUT_1680x8400.png
2689ai.gif (Giphy,Imgur, We have Two Ears and One Mouth for a Reason)

Sort:  

To allow to be, rather than seeking to bring resolution.

I was reading something like this today. We can be witness to what is without trying to explain, solve or bring to a conclusion.

Dwell in the space with the other person, so they know that you are attending to them.

I find saying STFU works that way too ;)
loving the gif btw <3

my all time fave:

them: You just need to smile more
me: Actually, No... you need to be less of an asshole.

SO MUCH YES ^^^^^^^^^^^ nods, claps, smiles more

My agenda has now become extensive use of Princess Leia gif's.

thealliance1.png

hell yeah! this literally is my life in gifs

Right? That facepalm might even top Picard's.

Ahahahahahaha
Can't comment much - this is HILARIOUS xD xD
applause

:P we telepathically are nodding in Unison lol

ahahahaha THAT exactly !!! xD

this is the next big thing @elgeko
Unicorns on Yoga Mats extolling the virtues of probiotics while getting drunk and poppin' pills and smokin' the devil's lettuce

I am guilty of this sometimes. Where I just mean well but my words and speech come across as a lecture.

I've learned you cannot tell someone what to do. It's their life. Even if you see them heading towards destruction, it's their choice, their life.

I'll give advice in a loving way yes, but only if I've gone through that same situation in my life. You cannot advise someone how to walk through the fire if you haven't walked through it successfully yourself.

So I'll give you advise in a loving way, and whether you want to take that advise or not is your choice. After that I wash my hands. I've done my part so to speak.

It's up to whomever to decide what they do with valuable, practical, useful advice.
Upvoted

me being lectured to is like setting off sticks of dynamite, constructive criticism or input is one thing....if I feel am being talked AT instead of TO, diff story
thanks for the thoughtful comment sir :)

Love the 5th element meme. You have my 1c for what it's worth. Nice to see people putting charitable causes up. (I'm following through from your other post) keep up the good work. 😉

I have no pressure
I have a lot of time
thank you for the advices

You can sing this to your well sayers (PLAY AT FULL VOLUME FOR MAXIMUM EFFEKT)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95