Travel with Barry: E. 2 - This Unique Statue of All Time Great Hockey Player Gordie Howe is in the middle of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Here I am in about 4' of snow, beside Gordie Howe and this famous statue of him, near the big rink in town -- in Saskatoon, where he is from.

His ashes, and his wife's are both now here, as of last August, 2016. I did my Grade 3 book report on him, he was one of my favourite players ever.

Howe was born in Floral, Sask., but his family moved nine days later to Saskatoon, where he grew up before embarking on a record-setting hockey career in the United States.

He died on June 10, 2016 at the age of 88. International media was all over this, he was a great ambassador for the game, honestly.

Numerous facilities and a street in Saskatoon have been named in Howe’s honour and a proposal following his death to name one of the city’s bridges after him is also going ahead.

Howe spent 26 seasons in the NHL and six in the World Hockey Association. He is still No. 2 on the NHL’s all-time goals list behind Wayne Gretzky.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/saskatoon/province-approves-gordie-howe-cemetery-saskatoon-sasktel-centre-1.3741898

https://www.thestar.com/sports/hockey/2016/08/31/gordie-howes-ashes-to-be-interred-in-saskatoon-statue.html


Why This Series, Barry?

--

I was driving across the country here and there and have TONS of photos from my various journey around North America.

I decided to start posting some of them since some people have encouraged me to post more personal things over the months which I have done.

This photo is from my Cross Country Mission Trip in 2006 where I called it Coast to Coast w. the Holy Ghost LOL.


My Philosophy In Daily Life & Travels:

--

I have always tried to be kind to people every day, as part of my life Philosophy, since I have always believed we can achieve more TOGETHER.



Technically lately the last while I started posting travel pictures, and never thought of starting another series with them, which is funny, because I have come up with and run so many series' here on Steemit LOL.


My path to Crypto is with you guys and we are on the path to Liberty.


We are all early adopters here, if you are even close to reading this today.

Be encouraged.



Don't let anyone tell you twins are a problem ever!!!!!

FUD or no FUD!!!


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/crypto-101-or-video-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-q-and-a-will-governments-ban-cryptocurrencies-8-mins-super-practical-resource

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/crypto-101-or-video-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-q-and-a-will-governments-ban-cryptocurrencies-8-mins-super-practical-resource

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/the-steemu-asks-what-are-you-blogging-about-today-or-e-15-or-drop-your-links-and-ideas-here-like-mad-pictures-thoughts-ideas-etc

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/breaking-news-the-last-several-hours-shakepay-to-cancel-their-crypto-debit-visa-cards-services-to-clients-outside-the-eu

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/breaking-crypto-market-cap-just-smashes-past-the-usd160b-mark-for-1st-time-ever-in-the-last-hour-or-8-28-2017

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/travel-with-barry-e-1-this-unique-statue-is-in-the-saskatchewan-airport-in-regina-sk-in-canadastan


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Sort:  

And my path to crypto is with you as well! Thank you for sharing, you seem to always have valuable content. As a newcomer to Steemit, it is great to see the Steemit platform used how it is supposed to be.

Man, that is some kind of constructive comment!

Thanks Dylan!!!

#Encouragement counts!!!

BarryDutton Barry Dutton tweeted @ 29 Aug 2017 - 23:31 UTC

My #Travel #Blog Moments on #Steemit #Saskatoon @sask_hockey #Saskatchewan #Hockey #GordieHowe #CryptoCurrency $BTC

steemit.com/life/@barrydut… / https://t.co/dyEAmjmMGh

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

That name Gordie Howe has a familiar ring to it. Maybe I heard of it while I was growing up in Minnesota. I always did enjoy watching hockey more than baseball. Spent a fair bit of my youth on the ice just skating around.

You def. would have being there, I forgot you were there.

I spent time that winter with MN folks who were in Seminary there, when I was at the seminary and bible college.

We were on the quieter side of the housing acreage for older folks and married types, LOL.

Ah, solo roadies so much fun....

Twitter Engagement stats lately:

--

That's a lot of impressions. Twitter show us his twitter wallet hehe.

That is just the 1st screen there, I have been very consistent there but this week some of my numbers jumped. Upon first glance it seems the travel posts are really doing a lot of it but the crypto #'s are still always OK.

twins are a problem ever... Surely not

Correct!!

#Pizza is Life!

Excellent, very good content greetings I follow you. I love you happy day, if it is your pleasure I invite you to visit my profile I am a girl lover of life and love I hope your participation until later

Forever immortalized for the 'Gordie Howe Hat Trick'. Sums up his career in a nutshell, in my opinion.

In honour of Gordie, Terry Sawchuk, Old Time hockey and your husband and rag tag garden.

Nite Eddie.

image follow me and always upvote as I bring daily inspiration quotes to help kick start your day

Twitter Engagement stats lately:

--

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71249.51
ETH 3815.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41