DAILY DIGITAL DETOX: A Steemit Community Life Series & Reminder | E.29 | Intentionally / Regularly Unplugging + My Quick Engagement Poll To You!

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I have taken this subject pretty seriously over the years. You need time offline.

Regularly & Intentionally. For lots of reasons.


THE DIGITAL DETOX SERIES OBJECTIVE SERIES CONSTANTS:


My plan with this series is to intentionally remind you, daily to get offline, give your brain, eyes, soul a break and time to reset and remind you that relationships with people can suffer if you are always on your phone and not PRESENT -- in every sense of the word.

The irony of bringing this series to you online, asking you to get offline, on an online blogging platform, is not lost on me.



There have been limited studies done on some of the effects of this digital hold on our lives and they are concerning to say the least. Social media use appears to encourage some of the following negative effects, some of which we hear about regularly now:

-- Narcissism

-- Screen time/white light/activity appears to be causing insomnia/broken sleep cycles (circadian rhythm)

-- Detached reality making our society and kids less empathetic and in touch with reality

Results from the few studies that have been done are troubling. Social media appears to promote narcissism, smartphones could be causing insomnia, and screens seem to be making our kids less empathetic.

Earlier posts in this series covered that in more detail.



TODAY'S DIGITAL DETOX TIDBIT:


Turn Off your Push Notifications.

--

Digital Neediness can be conquered by turning off your phone’s push notifications for half or more of your social media apps.

This means Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, news sites, dating apps, etc. All these sites send alerts when someone contacts you, likes a post, or something is sent to you that you subscribe to. They just all are not needed!

Start off with even a couple of these and set a specific time to check each and limit your time on each site, such as 15 minutes.

“This way you’re not going offline entirely but rather choosing when to access your social media sites and networks....“This puts you back in the driver’s seat.” - one expert says.

Take control of your devices and time. Don't let them control you!



Find a Digital Detox buddy as was mentioned earlier to do these things with, it helps to have support in place for little things like this.

Support and accountability again.



I've blogged here and in the past about this, but new people are finding the posts, or searching online, so I am saying this again today because it is VERY very important:

--

Keep tech/devices out of your bedroom and your kids rooms:

--

A constant tip is change 1 habit at a time, so I will keep this in the series.

Reminder: (see past posts) -- Try to use proper, healthy posture techniques always and be purposeful about this.



http://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/posture-for-a-healthy-back

Stick with it and make notes daily about how you feel doing this! Share thoughts with a friend or 2!

--

I don't embed my sources like "professional bloggers" -- 9/10 times -- people don't click the sources anyways, let alone hover the cursor to even check quickly, and this way, they can SEE the sources / url's -- that's what I prefer myself anyways, so if i get flagged, I get flagged, I am trying to appeal to the masses here.

--

It is more than just unplugging intentionally as I call it -- it is a return to some societal values that we have abandoned in favour of having all the access to data and online resources we have -- a shift is required. However:

Intentional Unplugging as I call it -- is a huge and necessary step.


--

As a reminder of what we see daily in the PHYSICAL realm of problems, here is a graphic showing the damage of the neck and spine as it relates to pounds of pressure looking downwards all the time:

--

--

(Sorry this is grainy but I enlarged this 2x, so you could see it better. This is right from the Ontario Chiropractic Association (hard to read but that is the source) -- and I wanted this unedited, it was a jpeg and resizing those means less quality)


Don't Risk a Crash in Your Health!

--


My Community Engagement questions to you, today, if you have read this far are simple and will evolve over time:

--

-- Did you INTENTIONALLY "unplug" or stay offline this week? How many times? Give yourself 1 point for each day in your reply!

-- Did you unplug with a family member / friends intentionally this week and thus CONNECT to them meaningfully? If yes, give yourself a point!

-- Have you realized this is a problem in your life, because that is the FIRST step! If so - 2 points for you!

-- Are you aware of this problem around you and your friends and family and have you addressed it with others? If so, you get a point also! ( Note I have always used the word "addressed" in this series, some people confuse this word with telling others what to do.... this is not the same thing. Dialogue with others is the goal. Awareness.)

-- Did you put your devices in another room at dinner time and at bedtime this week intentionally? That's a point each time, champ! List it! Think on it!!

--

Please tally up your points, list it in a reply and please open up about how you feel about these issues in your life and the world today!!

Why??

Because this is a Community Resource and I care and we are all in this together. None of us are getting out alive.

That is the end of today's post in this series. I wanted to cover all the basics in the Series constants, as usual, for all the new people reading this post for the first time,

If you are still reading -- thank you very much and have a nice day. I hope something here helps you.


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/crypto-101-or-video-just-released-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-where-the-laws-of-mathematics-prevail-24-mins-super-practical

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/7cwqqn-if-you-have-sbd-steem-dollars-to-sell-now-is-a-good-time-to-sell-them-on-bittrex

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemit-weekend-camp-fire-series-weekend-13-we-are-steemit-family-come-visit-around-the-fire-with-your-family-every-weekend

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/steemit-family-bitcoin-forking-family-chat-1-how-are-you-preparing-your-coins-holdings-for-the-coming-changes

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/facebook-wallet-fridays-show-me-yours-or-e-8-or-that-s-right-think-on-that-a-new-series-for-outreach-and-to-give-fb-the-business

Most Images: Gif's - via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com / Pixabay. Today:



If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Sort:  

wow
such a great post
thank you @barrydutton
let me tell you a diary about myself,, I was Addicted to internet two years ago .. and guess what happened ?? haha my celephone was stolen :)
at first I was so upset.. I think I lost every thing in my life !! I felt strange .. and I tought life will get so hard to me ,, but ,,, you know... It was greaaaaatttttt
after a while I desided to buy a celephone and Deliberately I buy a simple one!! without any digital facilities,,, and then.. after days and monthes I bacame strong !! I got powerful and free,, reall free
.. and you know... now.. I control my internet
and as you said..
I m not going offline entirely but rather choosing when to access !!
I t really necessary for me to be free and enjoy my life..
thanks again for your great post dear :)

Honestly, that is a GREAT REPLY!!!!

I am not even surprised to hear this, and I am hoping this helps someone else reading today, thanks a lot for sharing that!!!

Gets some people thinking!

It s my pleasure dear
thanks so much,,
yep, I wish sharing my experience helps others ! thanks again for your upvote

I just UV your awesome comment, too!

When I was in Pakistan last year I literally lived without a phone or computer for 4 months , and honestly it was the best feeling ever ! Ever since I joined Steemit 2 months ago, that's the only reason now I'd use my phone . To me I value family time , time alone and etc

Well said.

I prefer the simple life and have been working my way towards it the last few years.

Hopefully others will start feeling the same way you do without having to depend on technology to make it through their day !

Steem on

@barrydutton Thank you for raising awareness on simply unplugging for a bit. Namaste :)

Pleasure! It usually reminds / helps a couple people I know of, each post and I love that.

La tecnología esta logrando que el ser humano se vuelva un inútil, pero el realmente responsable de esto es el mismo ser humano que en su afan pór enriquecerse adopta formas de vivir menos la vida por estar pegado a una pantallita

Thanks for taking time to reply today. I can make out a bit of what you said there, LOL.

Steem On!

Always good advice Barry, I go to the local club and enjoy softball all day on Sundays now. I'm going to start practicing with the local senior men's team and maybe join if I get the hang of it. I never played as a kid more than just playing 21 or similar games for fun.
Baseball on all levels is very popular in Panama, Due to the American influence here for so many years. I only found out about the men's team when my whole construction crew took 2 weeks off for a major tourney in the spring. So we followed them around and supported the local lads most days chasing them around from field to field all over a local city near us. They rented a bus to get around as most were pretty pissed by the end of each day LOL
Lots of fun :-)
Cheers

That's a great reply man, there is a way to stay offline and due something fun and healthy sans the drinking part LOL

I know what you mean, I have a lot of friends who are softball warriors.

I played baseball at a ~semi pro level and honestly, I have always loved the game, the friends and fun, the roadtrips no matter how local or far away they were.

Life lessons, learned offline!

(:

Well said, the amount of information from social media or the internet will activate our fight or flee system in our brain. What will lead to a higher blood pressure and will lead to a lower immune system.
Not to mention the radiation from every electronic device, what is also bad.
There for im very happy to live on the edge of a city, near farmland, and a forest. Its perfect for long walk, to calm your mind down.

But i think the knowledge that it's possible to make money on steemit, what could be the only income source to make money, that gives a lot of pressure.
There for those keyboard happy people who spam comments for votes.
I think the best option is to make a schedule and go on the internet when you suddenly get a idea. Those ideas mostly pop up after you calm your mind down. That's what i do.:)

Solid reply.

The spammage on here is really bad these days.

Am afraid , it will only get wurst.
Because more new people will join steemit, who don't understand the technology behind steemit, and will latterly think to spam votes and comments to make money.

For that reason i created a facebook group, to centralized friends and others. But facebook is also not good enough, and there for i seek for other organized options, to create groups in Steemit. To bring and keep same minded people together, otherwise it will be a matter of time before it will be chaos with all the newbies.

So i see whales, dolphins and little fish, but something is missing in this "food chain", we miss the sharks who hunt down the weak small fish( trolls ) to get rid of them.
Imagine how it will be when steemit have 3 million members?

Wow. Awesome stuff @barrydutton. I'm curious.. Do you ever get donations with all those crypto links? :)

I gave you a follow! Talk soon.

Sometimes!

And thanks!

Any comments on my post here??

Yeah sorry haha, was just wondering about them donations! :P

Push notifications can be a super-distraction sometimes. I have never had push notifications on Instagram. Get too many messages, and would never be able to keep up. So all other social platforms, sometimes even Whatsapp, I just turn on 'do not disturb' on my phone. We sometimes just need to focus. All these other things can really set us back!

Awesome message. Talk soon :)

I really love this post because I believe that technology really can be an addiction that can be hard to recognize. One of my biggest pet peeve's is spending time with friends or family and having them constantly on their phone, I always make it a point to ignore my electronics when I'm spending time with those I love because for me, there is no worse feeling than being the 3rd wheel to a cell phone... also, one of my favorite challenges is when you go out to eat with friends and family to set all the phones off to the side and the first person to look at theirs has to foot the bill 😂 😳

Great initiative @barrydutton! This is extremely important and people tend to forget (myself included). The irony is funny indeed, but this is the best medium you have right ;-) ?

I think this is the best medium.....

but I do have a Medium acct I do not use since it does not pay me in crypto to build a community.

LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48