Dear Recruiters look at the skill, not just the past income. Success and skillset is way beyond to be defined by money

in #life6 years ago

Hey guys,
Today I gonna share an incident that recently happened to me. I recently went to a client who was looking for some freelance web developer for his project.
I went to pitch in and quoted the project for X amount and showed him my portfolio, he looked quite impressed by it and was willing to put me in, but of course, the deal had to hit a final hurdle which was the price. He asked me to do the task in an amount of X/4 - amount
I wasn't quite convinced and stayed firm at X-amount as he already mentioned that cost while sending out a proposal. I asked him what was the reason for picking me below the proposed project price.

Nothing seemed to be lacking in my portfolio according to him.
He gave a reason - “You came to see me with local transport, the last guy though was with a slightly weaker portfolio than you, was with an Audi and he quoted me the same account. I need to have a distinguishment established between you two”

However stupid this may sound a lot of recruiters go by that. Is he wearing formals? Did he get some awesome deal? Does he have a hot sports car with him? Where does he live? Does he live in a pause city area or a nearby farm?

I know everyone got the right to carry their biases, but this entirely breaks the point of the skill-based economy. If I am good enough to do his task to the best quality, nothing should stop him from giving the assignment.

Everybody needs one break to be big and don’t wait the person to go big just so you can hire him. For the reasons
If you give someone a feeling of trust, he/she shall leave no opportunity to give you back.
You will establish a long-term business relationship with that unearthed talent.
He will be thankful to you forever for giving him the first break.

recruitment-biais.png

Fellow Freelancers any weird other stories you came across ? Do tell me in comments.

Sort:  

In my country we often say that "appearances deceive." The most important thing is that each person has the opportunity to demonstrate the quality of their work. It would be fair but apparently that does not work like that.

Yeah thats really unfortunate that happens that way . I wish future times change soon to make this bias end.

Yes that is something that impacts my field , too. I am supposed to "look expensive" to attract more money, but I cant look expensive until I make the money. Meanwhile I have mad skills, and a strong resume with proven success in my projects (and tons of insight about my failures that help me be a better coach) ... anyway I really relate to this. I think it is silly logic : Literally anyone can roll up in fancy clothes and a cool car. that doesnt mean they have skills. It just means they spent some money on some shit they don't need. ha!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ayush from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37