Fixing Posture - Part 4: Neck

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit, lets talk about the most overlooked muscle on our body. Neck muscles, lets recall the last time we have seen someone working out their necks aside from people who participate in: wrestling, fighting, and football (American). The reason why those athletes train their neck is because they take trauma to the head and having a stronger neck help reduce the chances of a concussion. I am not telling you to start getting hit on the head regularly, but think of it as an insurance policy. There is always a chance where your head might be compromised even if you are not doing some kind of contact sport such as falling down, car accidents, or accidental bumps on the head.


Strengthen Our Necks


On a daily basis we stretch our necks putting it in a compromised position, most people in the world has forward extended necks while we look at our computers, phones, books, or anything that requires us to look downwards. While I was working long hours in front of a computer, no matter how ergonomic my chair was or the workstation I had there was nothing that would stop how tired my neck would get. I noticed how my neck was in a slight forward position while resting (15 degrees like the picture above). I knew that my neck muscles has become weaken and unable to support my head correctly.

Problems

  • Stiff Neck
  • Headaches
  • Tender areas around the neck
  • Numbness/pain along your arms
  • Trouble with balance

Lets do a simple test to see if your neck is overworking to support your head. Right above your collarbone and at the side of your neck, press down with your fingers. If there is pain it means that your muscles are weakened and other supporting muscles are working overtime to help balance and support your head.


Before I started training my neck, pressing spots around the collarbone area and up to the side of my neck caused a whole bunch of pain.

Results

  • Neck fatigue is gone
  • Haven't had a stiff neck
  • Less headaches
  • Neck tenderness is gone

Double Chin




I don't know what this exercise is called, but I called it the double chin since it is the exact motion you would do to create a double chin. It doesn't require you to have a ball but something that offers resistance. You can lay down on to the floor and drive your head straight back remember don't look upwards just straight back

Neck bridges




They are great for strengthening your neck (NOT FOR BEGINNERS ) as shown in the pictures above. I have done neck strengthening for about three months before I attempted it. I realize that you can still do the same excerise on the wall. Get a towel and place either in front or behind your head and lean towards the wall. Keeping your neck completely straight hold it there for 5 - 10 seconds and do 3-5 reps. As your progress with your neck strength try to increase the distance where you place your feet and the wall.

Side Neck




Pushing with your arms, resist having your head move. In all of these exercises above I never recommended letting your spine move out of center position. Having excess force pushing your neck (resistance training) , always remember to keep your spine straight like any exercise you would otherwise do. Always slowly work into the routines to avoid any injures.

Sort:  

This is very helpful, thank you for sharing! I nominated you for project curie :)

I actually made a similar fitness post today... although mine was about a double chin :)
https://steemit.com/life/@jrcornel/everyone-has-one-or-knows-someone-who-has-one-but-no-one-wants-one

Thanks! Much appreciated, funny post btw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41