Chronicles of Alan; Tribute to a Friend

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have mentioned in other posts that I am back staying in 3 Sage St. Florida Park , My Parent's first self-owned house. Built in 1960 to house 6 Children and themselves . At that time I attended Florida Park High School , which is half a block from this house , so "Missed the Bus" or the "Train was Late" did not work as excuses.( not for lack of trying) . It was at this School a few years later, that I met Greg P, and at this house that we bunked Cadets ( Wednesdays ,as I recall.) My Dad had also built a Home-Made HiFi System ( Valve of Course) which was really hard to find anything as good .
With our shared interest in Music we spent a lot of time putting this system through its paces. We often went to the local sessions together, and remained firm friends ,As we finished School , I started working prior to going to the army. ( see my Army Days blogs). On Weekends. with the few passes I got we would go to some or other club . One thing I never mentioned in my Army Days, was My Dad gave me a Nash Rambler Station-wagon , and Greg came back with me to Bloemfontein in it. I left the car with him ,in no time he was staying with some feminine types , and managed to drive the Nash into a pavement, altering the front suspension somewhat! I had blisters on my hands when I drove it back to JHB, everytime you hit a bump it would attempt to go up onto 2 wheels!

As soon as I got out the Army , Greg was called up to Potchefstroom , and on a Pass he introduced me to Kevin G. P, just getting out of the Army, who also turned out to be a real Good Guy , and like Greg , have been friends with through all these years.

Greg had been playing in several bands and joined an English band called the Upsetters as their Drummer, first time I had ever heard a fuzzbox. They stayed in a huge house in JHB with the A-Cads, another really good band.
I bought a Jaguar SS 3.5 Saloon 1948 Model , and Greg and I would take turns at being the Chauffeur .

We then decided to seek fame and fortune at the coast, and I, stupidly , swapped the Jaguar to a friend of My Dad's for an Ariel 250 to go on this adventure:-

https://steemit.com/rockstar/@gavvet/chronicles-of-alan-so-you-want-to-be-a-rockstar-bike-nut

We also worked together in a Record store located in the huge old OK Bazaars building in Eloff Street Johannesburg

When Chris and myself got engaged Greg was working at a Jewellery Store in Eloff Street and we obtained our rings from Him.
It is funny really, that when one gets married , there are more friends and family, life happens and one does not keep in touch near as regularly. Greg went to the coast, we made contact , when on holiday.

I remember Greg inviting me to Roxy's when Roots was in full swing , where he introduced me to Petro. Hi Alan, meet Piet ( unusual Girl's name) . When the Band hit the Stage , I asked why Piet?. I have never forgotten her answer, "How would you like to be called Petronella?"

Roots was one of the Best Bands I ever heard , playing all the old time Blues Classics, and youngsters asking them " Who writes your Material? " Go Figure!
Roots opened for Status Quo when they came to Sun City And Status were very impressed with them, asking where they performed?

End result , some of the Status members came to Roxy's, and said to the Lady at the Door , " Were from Status Quo , can we get in Please?" reply "And I'm Tina Turner, you're paying to get in" . Money can't buy stories like this.

We have stayed in contact erratically, I organised him monitor speakers for his Studio and later a Bass Guitar for his Son.

A few months ago Greg, very excited about his new project , asked if I would do the sound for them?, which I readily agreed to. In addition as I am booking the Acts for The Bohemian club discussed him performing there , which he was excited to do.
As I have had some bouts with Cancer, Greg called me and said they have found a growth in him, said he needed to get the results, and told him about a website that has a lot of useful info. Called me back to say it was non-cancerous , big relief.
Told me he was going into Hospital to have some polyps removed , minor operation.
Could not believe it when Petro called me on the 5th and told me that they had found a bigger mass and that he was not coming around.
I got on My Daughters Motorcycle , rode To Sunninghill Hospital , only to find he was in Trauma ICU, I stayed there quite a while before they would let me in. Walked up to him and said "Greg" , his eyes were open and I saw them go into focus for maybe, one second and then not really seeing anything. I was extremely upset to hear that he had gone the way of this world last Thursday Night . My Good , Honest, Big-Hearted Friend. Till we meet Again, Farewell!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.70 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43