Chronicles of Alan : So You Want to be a Rockstar?/ Bike Nut

in #rockstar8 years ago

When I was 16 (1964) My folks took the whole Family on a Ship to the UK.

The trip was fantastic , Introduced to TV , where I saw and heard the Beatles, Rolling Stones, Freddie and the Dreamers, Dave Clark Five,Gerry and the Pacemakers ( not the modern meaning) and many other's ,the height of Beatlemania. In addition saw the movie "A Hard Day's Night" as well as attended a live Broadcast for Radio of Manfred Mann.

I was in Matric at the time, came back from this with no interest in School ( not that I had much , anyhow) and dreams of being a Rockstar!

I failed Matric and started working at the Railways as a clerk. I had already been called up for the Military and they would pay me while I was away.

My first Salary bought me a Hofner Bass Guitar, went for a couple of Lessons with a Guy called Sid B.

Every one of the few passes I got ( see Army Days) would spend most of the time at nightclubs seeing Bands, totally mesmerized and, of course envious.Came out of Army, dream was still there.

Did far less practice than I should have, and what also did not help was falling off Motorbike's every now and then.

Greg P and I were best Friend's told me about a Gig down in East London .I resign from my Job and say goodbye to Lesley. We Ship my Amp & Bass and some luggage down by Train, get on my 250cc Ariel Leader and leave for the Coast.(about 700 kms) Just before East London there is a Gale Force wind blowing, I cannot keep the front wheel down on the road , Greg is heavier than me so he drives the rest of the way.

We stay with Greg's Aunt in Gonubie ,a Music Teacher.

There is a band that had some Radio success down there called the Kynd ( later the Dealians) they had just split up and we were hoping to join the remaining members.

Greg's Aunt kept Chickens, we often got home after 0200hrs and a stupid Black Rooster thought 0330hrs was time to crow! One night I hear a commotion, look outside and 2 locals are stealing chickens, I tell Greg, he says, "leave them".About a week after this a Guy comes to the door, offering to sell me , hope you guessed this?, a Black Rooster that I recognised, I suggested he depart in no uncertain terms!

In no time Greg was the lead singer and Harmonica Player while I started learning their repertoire in preparation for the departure of the Bass Guitarist.

The one club they were going to play in had a Ballroom on the side of the Hotel , the Electrical wiring was a disaster, so I rewired the place!

Not long after I was heading back to Gonubie on a winding road , A Chrysler Valiant was racing me , I saw him suddenly hit brakes, I remember going past him, looking at the Guy and thinking "Chicken" I am doing 80mph and there is a 90 degree left bend in front of me. Hit Brakes, lay it down, go over a 30 foot drop, hit a trees branches which slow me down, and land on my back other side of the tree.

Some local tribesman come running and offer to help , I say "Don't need it' and then trying to get up , feel the Bones grinding together , "please help me".

The Valiant had stopped and wanted to take me to hospital, asked him to drop me off in Gonubie. Got Greg's Aunt to take Greg to fetch the Bike and then some Girls we had met, took me to the hospital. Collarbone broken in several places and a few broken ribs ( not as much fun as it sounds)

Had to wear a Brace( for 5 weeks) and they kept me for observation. Realize that I have no money to pay the Hospital Bill's , Sheila , a girl who came to visit me, ask her to help me get dressed and , leaning on her a bit make my way out of there. ( never did heal properly, still have a bulging out left Collarbone)

I drove my Ariel to a Train , let the fuel out and shipped it back to Johannesburg, and took a ticket for myself., leaving Greg to carry on performing there.

This was my first attempt at fame and fortune with music. Failed Dismally , and 2 of the Great Passions in my life , Music and Motorcycles , if you follow ,these My Memoirs, often interfered with each other. ( usually the Motorcycles, or should I say ,the Rider's fault!)

Sort:  

Wow so much hair , someone has a "fabulos" day!

Picture is not of me , but my hair was at one time down to my waist! Thanks for the comment

Interesting

Thank You, yes, sometimes a little less interesting is more comfortable!

It is written interestingly, correctly, continue in the same spirit, such posts pleasantly and interesting to read) Respect)

Thank you very much for your kind words, much appreciated

The journey to fame and fortune is paved with difficulties and challenges.
Go for your dreams

That is very true , lots of scars to show, still positive!

When would a goal it is possible to

True, if you don't set goals and write them down , they will just remain a wish or fairytale!

You were a brat! hahahaha

You don't know a fraction of it!..... How are you doing?, been reading some of your posts, you have also been through the mill!

I'm doing well thank you. Everybody has a mill of their own! ;)

Thank You, Appreciate your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43