Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit, Part 13

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The weather was perfect today for more work on the firepit project.

Sunny and a nice breeze. I was deciding what to tackle next when I remembered I was running low on landscape fabric. The gaps near the firepit's base tiles weren't large, so I figured there would be enough to make it look tidy all the way around. When I was sweeping off the worst of the debris on the tiles, I ran into to this little issue.

That's one of the heavy rose vines growing between two of the tiles.

That 'stump' is as thick as my thumb! I tried digging it out a bit, but it was well established. When I finally got it out (many swear words later), it had dislodged the tiles enough that they would need to be re-set.

This is why the tiles got knocked all cattywampus...

It's a little hard to see, but the root system was under all the tiles. I'd hoped to avoid this outcome, but it'll probably be better in the long run. I'd have been fighting a never-ending battle against that thing!

Cleared out and ready to start over. Surprisingly, the firepit was easier to move than the tiles. Those tiles are heavy and awkward!

Just enough fabric to get the job done. Whew! There's a small wedge that I couldn't quite get, but I can cover that bit when I install the next row later on.

It only took one bag of mulch to make a solid base for the tiles.

Since I had the tiles up, I scraped off the worst of the caked on dirt and even used the trowel to knock the embedded dirt out of the grooves of the design. The design is actually quite pretty when assembled!

And, the final touch... home again on its perch!

Is it just me or does it seem a little happier in its newly renovated space?
I think it does.

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

If that rose vine dislodges anything else or comes back, just sell the house and be done with it and start over LOL

No kidding. Short of that, it's going to be a flamethrower.

Or the wax wood chip stuff I said you could make

LOL!!

That looks really nice! I like those tiles, nice pattern.

Thanks! It was really satisfying to see it all spiffed up. We had a nice rain tonight. I'll have to check in the morning to see if they're a bit cleaner. I think the tiles are my favorite part. An interesting focal point of the whole thing. That's my story & I'm sticking with it. Lol!

that's a lot of hard work.

When I finally got it out (many swear words later)

haha, swear words always get the job done

Is it just me or does it seem a little happier in its newly renovated space?

certainly seems happier

I should buy stock in aspirin. Lol!

Swearing does help. I worked as a bookkeeper in a truck stop for a year. I know LOTS of colorful phrases. ;~D

Good to know I'm not the only one who sees it. Sometimes I can get a little sappy.

Do take some rest, and relax for a job well accomplished!

I know LOTS of colorful phrases.

Ah, the great things life teaches us :)

Thanks, I'll try!

Indeed! :~D

I love that you use the word "cattywampus" too! I thought I was the only one to use that word anymore lol. Yay! You got the firepit in place!

Lol! Oh, yeah, that's a good one! The other one I use is 'wompy-jawed', means the same thing. Nice to know someone else understood the term.

I hadn't really wanted to do this extensive of a rebuild, but those dang roots had other plans. Now I'm sort of glad it worked out this way. Fingers crossed it'll be good for a few years and then some.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60