I Want A Tiny House!

in #life8 years ago

I've been following @robmc's progress as he builds his project. Transforming a metal box trailer to a home is a serious commitment. I'm fascinated by all the steps it takes. To see it happening in real time is a treat.

Then, @countryinspired compounded the issue showing off his converted bus.

Sigh...

My grandpa had an old bus we used when we were at the lake. Nowhere near as nice as @countryinspired's. Looked like he'd painted the outside blue with a broom. Heck, for all I know, he DID! Lol! Good memories which are starting to bubble to the surface.

I want a tiny house. Hubby says no way. For a couple of really valid reasons, but still... I want a tiny house.

Currently, I live in an 1100 sq. ft. ranch type house that's planted firmly in a vast suburban cookie-cutter subdivision. Blah. Boring. Life in the rut.

Oh, and when we do manage a vacation, where do we go? You guessed it...

A tiny house.



(source)

If you can get over the goofy puppy, you can see a little bit of the inside of the place. I was in the kitchen (you can see the fridge at the start) and swung around to face the front door. Off to my left is the front room with two twin beds. Off to hubby's left is the bedroom with a full size bed. Access to the toilet closet and shower closet are off that bedroom. And yes, they were closets. The kitchen is a galley style where the table takes up most of the space. (Keep in mind, these cabins are geared to fisherman, so sleeping space is the main focus.) The only thing I would add would be to screen in the front stoop. The mosquitoes are relentless and the biting flies are voracious some days.

Odds are I'll never get to have my own tiny house. But it sure is nice to know there are places that appreciate the concept so I can pretend for a week or two that it's mine.


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

I lived for 25 years in a truck (over the road Trucker)...I'd guess I had less than 40sq feet.
A tiny house would be a step up.
but I want one that floats.
I want a shanty boat.

Sounds awesome and yes, that would be a big change! Dad drove OTR for Schneider for a few years. He was always glad to have someplace to stretch his legs out on the weekends. Those cabs are not spacious no matter how comfy they've gotten over the years.

I hope you get your shanty boat and may she never leak!

Thank you.
I'm working on the design.

I lived in a shipping container many years ago in 2003 before all this became mainstream. I had everything packed so that my key items were in the first 12' of the shipping doors.

I stacked everything so that the other items all performed 2-3 other functions other than what they were designed for. Items that were not shelves, became shelves.

I flipped over a bi-fold door, folded it in half and that became a 6' long shelf and table.

I piped in hydro from a nearby utility pole and daisychained it into the unit all the way to the back of the 40' container where the last 30' were basically JAM packed full of all my stuff so you had to crawl up and over the packed stuff if you needed something once a month or so LOL but like I said, all the key stuff I needed daily were in the first 12'

I had a kitchen set up with "running" water out of a large water container I refilled once a week and the rest of the time, my food and water was purchased out in public in my travels and at grocery stores.

After a few months my cooler that was my fridge that I froze a giant ice of block every 3 days at the church into a large empty protein bucket, I upped the game and used the daisy chained hydro off the extension cord.

I plugged in my toaster oven and bar fridge and then it really became comfy lol

You could only use the toaster oven if you unplugged the fridge for a few mins and that was fine but funny, you can imagine some of the problems as I learned which amp loads really caused issues LOL.

I was still bodybuilding at the time so I was in the gym 2 mins away all the time anyways and that is where I showered and often did my dishes.

I could go on but you get the picture.

Very ingenious! Sensible to keep the most used stuff handy and get double or triple duty out of items. Figuring out ways to accomplish a 'run of the mill' goal requires clever thinking. Well demonstrated, from what you describe!

Thanks.

You would have been proud to see the sleeping loft I designed in there putting my Queen size bed and boxspring on top of a pile of larger, heavier flat items, it was one of my proudest moments of interior design LOL

My post on the roadmap release is out now from today's release:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/2017-steemit-roadmap-and-improvements-officially-launched-today-my-1-pg-overview-in-blue-collar-language

Lol! Good job and great security - hiding that much stuff under your mattress. See... clever!

Headed over to the link shortly. Tks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50