Adventures in Pet Sitting - Recalls, cont'd.

in #life8 years ago

Part of my responsibility as a pet sitter to keep up-to-date on any critter food recalls.

Thanks Pixabay

Thanks to @haphazard-hstead for prompting me to check out cat food & treat related recalls. I found that the list provider I had been using was defunct. I have a new list provider now and it should help us make sure we're not giving our critters something harmful.

In the interest of doing right by our fur-friends, I'll be posting any alerts I receive so we can avoid tragic outcomes. Obviously, this will be a sporadic endeavor and my hope is that it's not needed much, if ever.

Cat Food Recalls - 2017

9Lives Meaty Pate Chicken & Tuna, 13oz, 12/case - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate Seafood Platter, 5.5oz and 13oz - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate Super Supper, 5.5oz and 13oz - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate with Chicken and Seafood, 4-pack of 5.5oz pkgs - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate with Chicken and Tuna, 5.5oz - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate with Chicken Dinner, 5.5oz - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate with Liver and Chicken, 4-pack of 5.5oz pkgs - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate with Ocean Whitefish, 5.5oz pkg - 1/03/17

9Lives Seafood Poultry Variety Pack, 5.5oz - 1/03/17

9Lives Meaty Pate with Chicken & Tuna, 4-pack of 5.5oz pkgs - 1/03/17

EverPet Mixed Grill Dinner, 13oz pkg - 1/03/17

Special Kitty Beef and Liver Dinner, 13oz pkg - 1/03/17

Special Kitty Classic Tuna Dinner, 13oz pkg - 1/03/17

Special Kitty Mixed Grill Dinner (w/ & w/o printed wrap), 13oz - 1/03/17

Special Kitty Super Supper, 13oz pkg - 1/03/17

It appears this particular site doesn't provide an e-mail alert, so I'll be checking it periodically to keep everyone up-to-date. If I discover another site that does provide that service, I'll pass it along.


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

I need to see if there's anything that needs to be recalled for dogs, but honestly, with the exception of their dry food I try to make homemade treats for my pups and I check their toys like I would a toddlers. LOL

I did the dog one earlier... It's here. It also has a link to get e-mail updates. @haphazard-hstead asked about cats in that one, so I ended up with two posts!

You're a good dog-mom, @merej99! In a sense, they are toddlers, so the vigilance isn't excessive.

Costco is one of the best at getting word out to people on all kindsa recalls I have found. Emails even.


Just made this up on the Steemit!

Oooohhhh, thanks for the tip on Costco - will check that out.

Meme-monster, you are! Go get 'em, @barrydutton!

Good idea. I'll support this kind of informative content with upvotes. Dead pets are an atrocity.

Thanks for the support! I would feel bad enough if I messed up and gave something nasty to my dog. If it were one of my client's pets, I don't know that I could continue as a sitter - I'd feel too guilty & would be second, third, and fourth-guessing myself. These lists are a good way to keep the issue more visible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66