Adventures in Pet Sitting - Recalls

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Part of my responsibility as a pet sitter to keep up-to-date on any critter food recalls.

There have been so many cases of contaminated food and treats, that I made it a priority to receive alerts via e-mail. Having so many clients, you can imagine how many different brands, flavors, and batch lots I get to deal with! In my seven years in business, luckily I've only had one 'hit'. That was a few years ago and we got lucky in that the batch number wasn't a match. Whew!

It occurred to me that many folks don't hear about the recalls until it's too late. In the interest of doing right by our fur-friends, I'll be posting any alerts I receive so we can avoid tragic outcomes. Obviously, this will be a sporadic endeavor and my hope is that it's not needed much, if ever.

Dog Food Recalls - 2017


FDA Cautions Pet Owners Not to Feed Certain Dog Food Products Due to Adulteration with Pentobarbital (2/17/2017)

Against the Grain Dog Food Recall of February 2017 (2/14/2017)

Blue Buffalo Dog Food Recall of February 2017 (2/14/2017)

Companion Dog Food Recall of February 2017 (2/9/2017)

PetSmart Grreat Choice Dog Food Recall of February 2017 (2/9/2017)

Evanger’s Dog Food Recall of February 2017 (2/3/2017)

Blue Ridge Beef Pet Food Recall | January 2017 (1/17/2017)

If you'd like to receive these alerts directly, just plug in your e-mail address and you'll get them automatically!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Wow! Look how many recalls there are in one month! Do you usually see that many every month? Are most of the recalls for Dog food, rather than Cat food? Thanks!

February sure saw a lot. Only one in January. One in December, if I remember correctly. There doesn't seem to be any pattern either. That's why I thought an alert might be a good idea.

I can't remember the last time I saw a recall for cat food or treats, so I didn't do an updated search. Good thing you asked, because when I went to look at my list, I found it's defunct! So, I now have a new list and will put up a separate post later today. (Am a little pressed for time at the moment.) There are indeed recent recalls for cat foods! Thanks for the nudge!

I know you are pressed for time these days! Hang in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87