Adventures In Pet Sitting - Invisible Driveways

in #life6 years ago

One of my jobs takes me to 'The Farm' where I look after Rosie, Sophie, Kitten, and Marna.

It never fails to snow for at least one of my gigs out there. It's even become a running joke between the client and I.

This is what greeted me this morning. I had stopped at the end of the driveway to check the mailbox before continuing on up to the house. Thankfully, the snow was only a couple inches deep. It's a good thing I know where the driveway is, too, otherwise I'd end up tearing up their yard (and my van).

Think you can find it? Just for reference, the small building is a business office. The house is off to the left. The truck is parked facing the garage.

Here's the actual layout. I could have made the first curve a bit further on, but it was uphill and slippery, so I was paying more attention to getting to the top without sliding sideways into a tree.

Fingers crossed the snow stays minimal. A few more inches and I'll have to park on the road and walk up the driveway (oh, joy!). It wouldn't be the first time. That one had me wading through knee-deep drifts - which tends to make a solid impression on your memory in the process.

Wheeee.........!!!

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Looks beautiful but does not sound fun! Stay safe and warm!

It is a beautiful property, but that driveway is a challenge on a dry, sunny day. It could have been laid out as a gentle curve, but someone wanted a kink in the middle. Nothing against kink, but driveways shouldn't be included on the list. ;~D

Thanks hon! Finished my visits there this morning - unscathed!

Glad you got home safe and sound!

Seeing so many pictures online of snow. Wondering what it feels like, it’s the harmattan season in my part of the world

That's a good question actually because it depends on the type snow. This is light and fluffy, like feathers. Sometimes it's wet and heavy flakes. It's all cold and worse when it's windy.

If I could send you some, I would. ;~D

Thanks.
It’s all dry wind here right now.

Hello @aunt-deb Your brief bio interested me as my sister in New Zealand is a pet sitter. She is in her element when playing, walking and feeding her borrowed pets........dogs mostly. Those pictures above look to me, to be an occupational hazard......but then we get no snow here in sub-tropical Queensland and I'd find negotiating those slippery paths too much of a challenge although we could use some of that glorious looking snow at the moment. . I look forward to reading more of your per related stories. Following.

Pleased to meet you, @trudeehunter! So neat to hear of other pet-sit folks elsewhere. It's an obscure profession for the most part so it's always a treat. I do mostly dogs, too. Although, I've looked after a flock of chickens once and a couple of crickets once. The crickets were a kid's science project. Keeps things interesting, for sure! You're correct on the snow being part of the deal. I grew up with this stuff, so it's just a change of tactics. Sure wish I could send you some of this. We have plenty...!

I look forward to your posts, too. The photography posts are some of favorites. Following, too.

I wish you could send me some of that snow too @aunt-deb I'd happily trade our relentless sun and heat for a day........but I shouldn't complain. I live near the sea so we do get a nice breeze which helps to keep the temperatures down. This is first time I have heard of anyone pet-sitting crickets. Sounds like you lead a very interesting life.

That's a navigation challenge, for sure! But sitting here, that snow sure is pretty! ; )

They have one of the prettiest properties I get to visit and I always look forward to working there. They planted a bunch of bulbs out by the driveway entrance last fall. Can't wait for those next...!

Spring will be here before we know it! Enjoy those bulbs!

We purchased snow markers, which are basically thin orange poles that we stick in the ground on each side of the drive. Then we know where it is both for getting in and out and for snow removal. They work great, except for when I run them over anyway... 😂

Markers would have been tremendously helpful. I'll have to suggest that to them for next time! I think they're so used to it, that they forget other folks aren't quite that familiar with it.

I do have some that I've used for my driveway. I even get double duty out of them and use them for trellising in the garden during the summer. The peas just loved 'em! ;~p

Thanks! The only drawback was the pointy end sticking out from the cross-piece. Had to dodge that more than once. ;~p

Beautiful pictures. We got a few inches of snow here in east TN last night. Im hoping not to have to go out in it. I dont mind driving in the snow in the right vehicle, but not in a Prius.

Thanks! They do have a nice property and snow makes it sparkle! It doesn't take much to make the roads treacherous, though, you're right. I've never tried it in a Prius, but I'll bet it's a little light on traction.

Yeah its such a small car and doesnt have 4wd. It just doesnt seem built for snow but maybe its not as bad as I think.

Better safe than sorry! Maybe a short test run to see how it handles...

Once I got off my road yesterday everything was fine, but then when I got back I couldnt get up my driveway (its paved but really steep).

Ouch! That's no fun. Hope it melts soon!

Quite the invisible driveway! Good thing you knew where it was.

Looks like a fun sled ride to me. Hope you are careful on your outings to see the pets. 🐓🐓

Yup - just enough of a slope for a smooth ride!

Thanks & I'm doing my best to keep it on the road and upright. Front wheel drive helps, but caution is still the order of the day.

That's a lot of snow. You pet sit, do you also farm sit?

It is - and it's still coming down. I wonder if I'll be able to see the tracks I left when I go back tonight.

The closest to farm sitting I've gotten is a couple who had a sizable flock of chickens. That was an education! I got to keep the eggs from that week, too. (One of my best tips ever!) After reading all the great info available here from the Homesteading Community, I would consider taking on that challenge, though I'd hope to start off with smaller livestock. I'm no where near capable of minding pigs, cows, or horses. Not sure about goats. Maybe rabbits would be best for a novice like me. ;~p

I am sure you could handle it. I think cows are easier than dogs and cats to take care of;)

I've been around a couple of cows - enough to know they're a handful.

My view of dogs and cats is my profile comment:

As a pet sitter, I'm a playmate to dogs and a servant to cats.

LOL!

Like driving through the woods.

Yup! Those are oak trees. When I was there in the autumn, driving over all the acorns sounded like popcorn. That place is full of neat surprises!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63376.37
ETH 3089.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82