Not Quite an Introduction Post

in #life8 years ago

This is my first post on Steemit and I'm glad to be here, but like the title says this is not the standard introduce yourself post. I have been working on that and with some support on this article I may find the courage to do such a transparent window into my life soon.

Instead I would like to talk about something else just for starters, and that is how I mustered some inspiration today. You see some of us are not so inclined to be motivated by passion and progress everyday we wake up. Despite this, I was able to get up and get things done this morning, some of which I had even been putting off for months.

Excercise-for-good-healtha4aa0.jpg

I will just give a quick overview of the things I have accomplished this morning. I woke up a 6:00 am, this wasn’t the first win because it wasn’t of my own accord but still afforded me a chance to get an early start. I prepared the kids for daycare as well as remembered to grab some sensitive paperwork for delivery on my way out of the house.

I will just give a quick overview of the things I have accomplished this morning. I woke up a 6:00 am, this wasn’t the first win because it wasn’t of my own accord but still afforded me a chance to get an early start. I prepared the kids for daycare as well as remembered to grab some sensitive paperwork for delivery on my way out of the house.

With momentum starting build, when I returned home I went for a short run. My cardio seriously needs work but at least I was able to pick myself up and get going today. After some rest and a cup of coffee, I took on a task I have been putting off for weeks if not months. I won’t go into graphic detail here but I cleaned out my dog’s outdoor kennel area and applied cedar shavings.

These small task did not take much time in all, but got my morning started with a good sense of accomplishment. I was able to manage small task in the moment and then tackle other things I have been putting for a while. They also afforded me the confidence to make my first Steemit post!

As I said before I have trouble getting myself motivated and I don't feel I am alone in that sentiment. So for those of us who have an internal drive deficiency, we must revel in our inspired moments whenever they may come. The thing that spurred my actions came from last night’s episode of the t.v. show MR. ROBOT.

mr-robot-tv-series-4131895a72a.jpg

Not Quite A Spoiler Alert:
In last night’s episode “eps2.7_init_5.fve” there was a conversation between two secondary characters where one was trying to get information from the other. The character told a story with the moral being that if they would stop struggling and accept their fate they would be in a much better position to deal with things.

Now this in itself could be an important message to some, but let me take a second to add some context to the conclusion that I came out with when applying part of this idea to my life at this moment. I have been struggling with depression and some mild anxiety in the recent months making it hard for me to get things completed.

The tactics I have been using have not been working and I haven’t made much notable progress. They have derived from this very good monologue by Duncan Trussell from “The Duncan Trussell Family Hour” podcast.

Now these two ideas seem to clash obviously, one says stop struggling and the other is saying fight as hard as you possibly can so what was I missing? The piece that brought it all together for me was simply, Stop Struggling to Fight!

Reduce the amount of friction and stress that I put on myself by making it easier to complete something than it would be to put it off till later. This idea of reducing friction to complete tasks isn’t even new or particularly profound, but this is the first time that I have really been able to implement it effectively.

I can make an actionable list and steps to do this in a later post if at least one person in the comments request so. I will also be doing my full formal introduction post soon so if this helped you or you are sympathetic to this topic please follow and/or comment below.
{Images gathered from google no copyrights infringed}

Sort:  

Struggling with lack of motivation can be a curse. I hope you can continue making progress as you described.

For far too long a time my mantra was, "Don't put off until tomorrow what you can put off until next week." I still procrastinate, but not so badly as I used to.

I wish you success and wealth here.

Thanks for the kind words. I did forget to metion at tge end that I actually have no aspirations for this post, it was just another thing I could bring myself to accomplish Today!

Even with no asperation, the opportunity for gaining wealth is pleasant -- and motivating.

Congratulations @augmentalized! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @augmentalized! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43