Going from geeky gamer to dad...

in #life5 years ago

 Growing up I was always a geek and gamer. As the years past I spent less time gaming and more time "being and adult". I've never lost my love of coding, gaming & all things nerdy but just had less time. Trying to get back into it over the last couple years I found I had less patience for learning newer games. I mean I would have loved them as a kid but today to spend a thousand hours playing a MMO or RPG isn't feasible. I'm more a 30 mins at a time guy which leads me to Call of Duty multiplayer and "Retro Gaming". Older games tended to be simple and fast.

In the last year my partner Melyssa ( @merlotmama ) became pregnant with our first child. This made me ponder my childhood and all the awesome things I enjoyed. Being in this nostalgic mood in the last year has made me dust off all my older systems. I've been playing with my NES/SNES and coding on my Vic-20. My favorite is my Gameboy. I pull it out of the shelf and dusted off my games. I even brought the it with me to the Hospital!

![2000_0114_030903_001.JPG]()

Melyssa playing Tetris while in the hospital...


Going to the hospital early in the -40C morning i felt nervous for what was yet to come. The streets where empty and Melyssa was in labor pain, so naturally I gave it a bit of extra speed down the dark streets. I pondered how long labor would be, would a cop pull me over @ 2:30 am... does the "she's in labor" story work?

Eventually on the cold February evening our daughter Heidi was born. It was an amazing experience getting to hold her for the first time. Since then my life has changed tremendously. My evenings after work have become dedicated to Melyssa and Heidi. The learning curve has been steep, changing diapers, swaddling, discerning different cries... hunger or if she wants to be rocked. 

![2000_0115_123010_001.JPG]()


I am most amazed with Melyssa for everything she does, being with baby almost all the time. It truly is hard work being a mom! Being a dad now makes me think of the future constantly, what will Heidi look like as she grows? What will he voice sound like? What will be her first words? Will she like school? Will she ever have kids?

I can't express enough how much I love Melyssa and Heidi! I love you both very much!

   

Check out Melyssa's birth story:

https://steemit.com/newmom/@merlotmama/my-birth-story


  

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77