10 Things Chinese People say to Overseas Chinese

in #life6 years ago (edited)

As an Overseas Chinese in China, I get a lot of weird looks when I need to purchase a train ticket with my passport or when they asked for my identification. Below are some of the questions I always get in China.

First the confusion, then the questions. I basically got used to the drill and would happily answer all of them

Taylor swift agrees ..lol
source

  1. "You don't have a Chinese ID? Aren't you Chinese?"(Yes, they ask twice)
    I got this question all the time from bankers, police, authorities..

  2. "So if you're not from China,but you look like a Chinese. Are your parents from China? Where are they from?"

  3. "So your forefathers are from southern China; When did they move to your country?"

  4. "In the late 30s? I see... China was going through a hard time that period. Do you know what happened to China at that time?"


    Even if I really don't care, I have to care out of respect for the Chinese here. They are looking at me like a lost child that have finally return home after so many years

  5. "So, how do you feel, now that you've return to motherland?"


    This is one of the questions that I really do not know how to answer. I usually answer is a subtle way, like "I like the city, it's busy" or "I find living here convenient and I need to get used to speaking Pu Tong Hua more often". I can't be rude and say, "No, I like my country better than China" or "Why everything is in Chinese" in front of a person I just met; it's impolite, and they will get a bad shock.

  6. "You've so lucky, you can speak 3 languages fluently!"


    (Smiling inside)Oh Yes, I know! and i learned some spanish too

  7. "Do you know what it is like to go through 高考? (Chinese entrance exam)"


    I heard of it, it's scary.

  8. "It must be very hot and humid in Southeast Asia!"

  9. "Oh, you lived in Singapore too! I've been to Singapore!"

  10. "Wow, you were an English teacher before coming to China. That's impressive. Now, do you know any person that could teach my son English? I prefer someone from English speaking countries, and have Caucasian looks. How about your Russian friend here?"


    Seriously?


Anyway, I hope you enjoy this post. It's all real. See you next time =)


Profile
Reena.K(pen name) is a member of steemit, content writer and editor for several products on the market. Team leader of Overseas Media Marketing for a Chinese startup in Beijing, the team and her has lead several PR successes, most notably MESAY 2, a project that was launched on Kickstarter. Currently, Reena is working on the PR for SOX, a new fashion brand by TOHSI Industrial Creative.
She has worked with several internet influencers and bloggers. If you're interested to work with Reena.K, please DM on her social media and send an email.
She also consults students who want to study abroad as part of the SA program by the International Business School of Beijing Foreign Studies University
She is a member of the Association of Malaysian Students in Beijing(AMSIB)

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

It is funny how people make assumptions, eh...? LOL! 😆 Thanks for sharing some laughs with #steemitbloggers

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

I can totally relate to some of those situations!

so we are pretty much on the same boat =)

Absolutely!

hahah very interesting and very true!
As a PRC now living in singapore, i totally understand why people there ask you all those questions.

hi, thank you for reading my post! I'm glad u understand this funny article. lol. My teacher told me that Chinese are genetically build to be very curious. Hence the questions and if im white, the phototaking of course

Would this be the top ten ignorant questions? Or just questions in general?

I ride a motorcycle, don't own a car. You give me the idea for a post on the top ten stupid questions I get :) Spoiler alert: Aren't you hot wearing that gear? No, if I were hot I'd change something. I'm a motorcyclist, not a masochist.

Thanks for a fun post.

both general and ignorant questions. lol. i get it all the time. But yrs would be so funny to read too 😂 i wondered how many times you answered those questions.

Sounds way too invasive for just buying a train ticket--where you go and why should be your business, not the governments. Of course, soon the government (or more likely big business in the States, which is seemingly already more powerful than the government) will just use cameras to automatically identify you and everything about you. So you go to buy a ticket and will be asked "Hmmm. Why did you order American food last night, instead of Chinese?" ;-)

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

ahahahahha...hope you enjoy the post. the chinese asked those questions because they are used to checking ID with someone asian. So when they see an asian face with a passport, they get confuse. Plus... it's a bit tedious for foreigners to do stuff in China and less convenient for non Chinese ID holders.
there was one thing i havent share on steemit yet, the amount of surveillance camera around 😂, but those camera wont be able to identity me as a non chinese ID holder at the moment, at least not yet.

hahaha at least they try and open a conversation :P Imagine if they just looked at you like you are some kind of criminal or a spy :P

lol... that would be not good.. Especially near retricted areas

howdy from Texas asianetwork! oh this is interesting to see what it's like for Chinese person to go back to China! Never thought of that but this is very educational. great job. I saw your name in steemitbloggers and thought I'd drop in!

That is very nice of you to drop by. thanks a lot for reading! I'm glad you find it interesting.
Cheers

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @asianetwork! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56