The One Question I Ask Nearly Everyone I Meet!

in #life7 years ago

There is one question which is vitally important for me.
It is THE question.

It can invoke SO many different reactions.

From completely confuzzled as to why I would ask such a thing to aggressively angry for even bringing it up to sweetly surprised to be asked to getting teary-eyed from emotion.

It is mega interesting to see how someone answers this question.
Because it can deeply show you the real person hiding in those depths of personality.

Or atleast that’s what I think.

The question is :

Do you love yourself?


jessica-ruscello-120993.jpg

It’s a question that doesn’t get asked.
Not enough anyway.

So let me ask YOU.
The reader reading this post.

Do you love yourself?


Please answer below.


And if you were to ask me this question, my answer would be YES!

I love me in all of my glory.
I love me even though I have days I struggle with myself.
I love me deeply through always putting myself first.
I love myself 100%!
And I am extremely happy with that.


Photo from www.unsplash.com


BIG love,

Ashley

Steemit Ashley Kalila.png


Sharing Authentically.png

Sort:  

That question is difficult to answer, at the moment, but I'll try to.
And this is no accident that I am reading this blog of yours right now.
I was directed to this account from #openmic, to @meno, to pechi's, then to yours.

Been trying to sleep since 12 midnight (MNL time), but I can't.
I talked to my mom, chat with friends, checked cheap int'l flights to travel next week, and listened to songs and I sang along with it, until I get tired and lied down in bed.
At 3AM, I closed my eyes, then tears rolled down my face (and my ears) until I can't breathe anymore.
I opened my mouth to catch some air, because I try not to wake up my brother with my weeping, and my nose got clogged up.
I rolled myself on the bed a lot of times, but the sadness dug deeper, my mind and my heart couldn't just accept the pain it has causing me.
Yes, my heart got broken, for he started to like someone else.
I guess for me to get healed is to accept that everything is really over between us, or maybe, I just have to tell this person that nothing has changed and I still love everything about him.
I'm really torn in between.

But my answer is this:
I just needed some SPACE that's why I broke up with him. I STILL LOVE MYSELF and I didn't want to lose myself because I became selfless in our relationship.

I hope my answer made sense. :| It's 8:15am now. I will try to sleep and rest now. Thank you for this, this helped me to express myself in this agony I'm in right now.

@angelicagarcia

First of all, a HUGE fuck yes to you opening up about your sadness. Takes a whole lot to be able to do that.
And really you know, I always feel when I come to a crossroads that I am so torn on I just decide for myself what is best for me at that moment.
And that's why I'd suggest to you too.
Do what is BEST for you, and only you.

It is in non-acceptance that suffering lies.
Surrendering to how things are right now is (for me) the most compassionate and loving thing you can do.

And also good that you let yourself cry and get it out of your system, it means you are deeply going through the process and that is only good.
Yes it can be MEGA shitty to go through but its kinda necessary!

BIG BIG BIG LOVE TO YOU FROM ME!

You are an inspiration!

xxxx

Hey, @ashleykalila! :)

Thanks for your message. It was a terrible night for me, and sorry for being so emotional on my comment, but yeah, it did help me to catch up with the reality that I am in. Maybe long distance relationship is really tough, and I guess I have to really let go of it. But I’ll let him know what I truly feel inside, because I don’t want to have regrets and I wanted to live my life to the fullest ever ever! Hahaha! Have a great weekend to us! ❤️

Wow, I hope you feel better soon!

Thank you @overkillcoin. I hope it’ll come the soonest!

Well I don't viciously hate myself, so that's a start lolz

Fo sho!
Haha.
But surely there must be parts of yourself that you do love?

Kinda sorta. It would be nice if life would get out of my way and better allow me to develop those areas... but maybe the obstacles in life are some kind of unrecognized stepping stones... oooooh deep... XD

Oh yes for sure.
The worst periods of my life have also really been the best because I learnt a shit ton.
Stuff I wouldn't have learned if life had been all cosy and rosy!
:)

I do. If ya don't love yourself, how can you truly love anybody else?

I don't fully agree with this statement.
It's not about not truly loving someone else.
For me, it's when you deeply love yourself that you can love another without attachment. :)

I agree with that. You said it more eloquently. So, do you think it's possible to love somebody else if you struggle to love yourself? #selflove

Nope - sorry for the disappointment :/ [and when you read my answers, I'm sure you'll wonder why, but unfortunately, it's true :/ ]

Dear,
absolutely no disappointment on my side for if you do not love yourself.
Thank you for answering so honestly!

Haha yes definitely a great question!

Do I love myself? I am very happy and proud of myself that I can finally and truthfully say that I do 😀

That's beautiful! :)
Did you actively work on loving yourself?

Yes it was an active process of getting to know myself, and learning to accept myself for who I am, loving myself for who I am, while also working on being a better person. But passive in the sense that it felt like a natural progression in life :)

Btw, I am finally working on my HoS interview, and I'm really enjoying it. Will hopefully be able to send it to you soon! Hope you're well!

Beautiful! :)

Yessss looking forward to reading it!

I do love my body and my smile :D

hemels ja, elke dag meer en meer en mijn leven wordt altijd maar beter op vooral emotioneel, life is good.

I love me even though I have days I struggle with myself.

Hmmmmmmm...... Let me think about that one.

Nnn Yes.

Yay! whoop whoop

Of course you do!

Everybody loves you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67411.34
ETH 3684.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75