Labels Are Limitations (also why I am NOT Vegan)

in #life7 years ago

As I write this I realise I have yet to introduce myself... I am no one, and I do not want to be anyone. Just playing my name is Ash and for someone who is 28 years old (16 years old if I have a clean shave) I am rough around the edges with an abundance of experiences.

So let us get to the point...

Why are labels limitations, and why am I NOT Vegan?

Well fortunately for you and I it all coincides, so you will only need to spend the right amount of time reading this.

Last year I made the choice to make some changes to what I eat, you guessed it... I went Vegan! As soon as I made the conscious choice to change, I instantly did not like the idea of referring to myself as a Vegan. When I ate everything else I was not parading as an omnivore or a carnivore, I just ate food as myself.

Here is what I found. When we label ourselves we are unconsciously separating ourselves from the rest of humanity, whether it is an attempt to distinguish one group from another, or because we feel it validates who we are and what we do, it is still inevitably separating us from everyone else.

Whenever there is separation there is conflict, you know the old story of "us and them"

usvthem.png

The truth is I put this theory to the test with myself and those around me. I made the changes discretely and never once said to my family and friends "I am Vegan now; I do not eat this anymore". I kept it simple if they asked and let them know that I have transitioned to a plant based diet, at first they would try and challenge me with "well you used to eat this and that". I would keep the response kind and highlight the key words, I used to... Not anymore.

Then I listened to conversations around me from someone who refers to themselves as Vegan, and the look on people’s faces when they announced that was priceless! It was like they have just encountered a new species that had declared war on them. Now this was no one’s fault, people just fail to understand one another and we are only open to our own belief systems.
So the conversation went as followed:

"Can I have the salad without the goat’s cheese and eggs please?"
"The salad is suitable for vegetarians" looking confused.
"I am not vegetarian; I am Vegan" in a stern tone.
Waiter rolls eyes and becomes quite rigid. "Well what does that mean? I don't think we serve Vegan food here".

For the remainder of that lunch there was tension between both my friend and the waiter, why? Because neither was willing to compromise their beliefs towards one another and understand. Their labels as Vegan and Meat-eater had now bound them to an unconscious state of being.

The same applies with jobs, culture, religion, sports teams, ethnicity, class and so on. You see a lot of these labels are given to you before you are even old enough to understand what they are doing, and because of that it can make you separated and lonely at times. So as you get older you seek a new label in an attempt to get noticed, respect, or just an identity and a sense of belonging. Some people become Reiki Masters, Psychics, Vegan, Entrepreneurs, CEOs, Sailors, Soldiers, Firemen, football players, etc.

When you were born the blueprint and foundation of society had already been put in place, and it was a broken one at that. Some of us are born with dark skin, others light, and some in between. You were probably given a culture, religion, or a belief system to abide by. You may have grown up to become a doctor or an athlete, and because of that you are forever known as Kim the doctor, or Sofia the gymnast. All the other great things you do like the acts of kindness and meals you cook for friends go unacknowledged, because you now have a label that defines you primarily.

But before all that what were you? Human. Thus we are all equal we are all one.

pirate.jpg

If can remove the labels from yourself, you can remove them from everyone else. If you can remove the labels you can remove the borders, and the barriers. If you remove the labels you will have an easier time accepting all that is, and be able to move forward with a view to build bridges.

So to summarise my name is Ash, I am human just like everyone else, if you are thinking about inviting me to dinner, I eat a plant based diet, and I choose to look past that which labels you, to see who you truly are... A projection of the universe in all of its entirety, a piece of myself. The Vegan story is just an example for the contexts of this topic, I do not generalise. If you wish to discuss other examples feel free!

17554063_606880376183829_3118453937099838118_n.jpg

Lose the labels and you shall find yourself.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ash.energy.stone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ash.energy.stone! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ash.energy.stone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64