My Journey to the US (Part 2 / N)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is the continuation of my journey to the US. If you haven't read part 1 yet, here you go .
Anyways, moving on, I somehow entered the US on the 6th and my bags entered the US much later. The fiasco at Dubai meant that most of us did not know where our luggage was and we simply had to make do with what we had in hand. Luckily, I had packed a couple of sets of clothes in my hand baggage and that meant that I did not have to immediately go in search of new underwear!

They say that the United States is the land of immigrants. I realized how true this statement was the day I stepped out of my temporary accommodation. I mean I did find people of different nationality at the airport but hey! you find that at every airport. I had not walked more than a mile outside but I had encountered a couple of South-east Asians, Mexicans, Europeans, Canadians, and of course, a lot of my fellow Indians. I had never had an opportunity to interact with such a diverse group of people and this presented itself as a wonderful opportunity to know more about people and their outlook towards their fellow human beings.

I know I will be lying if I say that my pronunciation of the English language is perfect but I was confident that I will be able to talk my way around to gain friends. I was feeling a little tensed that I might have a peculiar accent that people might find funny. However, as it turned out, everybody in the group also was feeling the same insecurities as I was and they all had an accent. I do not remember what we spoke about that day but the only thing I remember was how we all accepted each other into the group and how we supported each other and made sure that everybody in the group was heard and felt that they belonged.

In my next post, I will talk about how different education was in the US when compared to India. Like I mentioned in my previous post(s). I am still learning to write in a manner that captivates the reader and also reduce my grammatical errors. So if you have reached till this part and feel that I have made a couple of mistakes anywhere above, please do mention them in the comments.

Sort:  

Dear Arun san, thank you for sharing information it is very helpful. Welcome to steemit. Hope we can be connected and help each other. Cheers!

Thank You so much for reaching out. I am glad I am able to help you!


Welcome to Steem @arunsubramanian.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @arunsubramanian!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3299 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus for Firefox now available on Mozilla Addons store + Bug Fixes.

Congratulations @arunsubramanian! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @arunsubramanian! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49