Caring For My Marimo Moss Ball!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0013.JPG
I love plants! But most of all I love aquatic plants! However, most aquatic plants require a lot of care and an aquarium so I prefer to root plants in gorgeous clear vases in water and get my fix that way.

Well..... that was until I discovered Marimo Moss Balls!!!
IMG_0012.JPG
These peculiar little balls of moss are only found in two parts of the world, Lake Akan in Japan and Lake Myvatn in Iceland. They are extremely easy to maintain on their own and I have seen them as part of aquariums where fish and brine shrimp use them to nibble on and play with!

When your Marimo Moss Ball arrives or when changing its water, first squeeze out as much water as you can from it with a gentle squeeze.
z8ynBByhQwixg2WdhtGsIA.jpg
Run it under cool tap water....
fullsizeoutput_12d9.jpeg
And give it another squeeze. This makes sure any loose particles and debris won't make your container water cloudy.

Now fill a clear glass container with water, I have been using half spring water and half cold tap water for the 2 years I've had mine, until you know your Marimo will be submerged. Proceed to place it in the water and to make sure it sinks, squeeze it under the water gently until it reabsorbs enough water to sink it!
IMG_0015.JPG
Wasn't that easy! And as long as you keep the water clean and in filtered light your Marimo Moss Ball will look gorgeous and flourish in your home or office!

Have you ever seen a Marimo Moss Ball?
IMG_0014.JPG
Xo,
IMG_1115.JPG
Upvotes, resteems & Donations are loved! Merci 💕
C4DB37AF-D02A-4BAD-AD0A-6D54CBB17322.jpeg

BTC
3EnChez6mqJGzsLtFzrXiuAcwy26QcE4YS

ETC
0x2D7Af3A929caFF0408B7b876BF6Be84A656e9668

LTC
LhTXkbJF7m4BrK2HFrF96xrKvoozRAy3w9

Sort:  

I am a plant hoarder and that little guy you have is something I’ve never seen before. It’s so darn cute in a little bowl, I need one too!

You would do love it!!! I too am a plant hoarder friend!

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Thank you for using the #diy tag. We have rewarded this post from our @build-it.curator account with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote.


Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please read our guide


Need help? Live technical support on Discord or Telegram

|


This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, click here to vote for us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67