Autumn Scents From My Kitchen~ Focaccia (recipe in post)

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_8968.JPG
I like to welcome Autumn with comforting scent emanating from my oven. From baguettes to cupcakes, naan and wheat loafs I love making it all! But the most common bread I bake is delicious Focaccia! Drizzled with olive oil and served alongside pasta or charcuterie this gorgeous bread is a staple in our home. And it only takes 1 hour to make!

What you need for this recipe:

3/4 Cups warm water
1/2 Tsp white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon active yeast very important it says ACTIVE
2 tbsp good quality Italian olive oil
2 Cups all purpose flour
1/2 Tsp Salt

For the topping:
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
1 Tbsp good quality Italian olive oil
1 Tsp fresh rosemary coarsely chopped
1/2 Tsp truffle salt
1/2 Tsp sea salt crystals

IMG_8957.JPG
Recipe:

  1. Whisk sugar into warm water until dissolved.
  2. Add yeast to water and stir in. Let it sit approximately 5 minutes until it foams.
  3. Mix 1 cup of the flour and salt.
  4. Add oil and mix it in well (I use my hands).
  5. Add about 3/4 of the remaining flour and mix it in well.
  6. Preheat the oven to 220 degrees and turn it off as soon as it reaches this temperature.
  7. Grease your skillet with olive oil.
  8. Add the rest of your flour on a flat surface and knead and fold the dough until its no liner sticky and feels smooth. Shape it into a ball.
  9. Roll (I pull and shape with my hands) into the size of your skillet and stretch up the sides.
  10. Cover it with a towel and place in the oven to rise for 20 minutes.
  11. Take the skillet out of the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Poke small holes with your fingers on the dough and sprinkle on the rosemary.
    IMG_8959.JPG
  12. Brush a little olive oil on top and sprinkle the truffle and sea salt on your dough.
    fullsizeoutput_1291.jpeg
  13. Place the skillet with your dough in the preheated oven and bake for 20 minutes or until light golden brown.
  14. To make the topping melt the butter with the olive oil and brush on immediately after removing your focaccia from the oven.

I served ours for a quick snack with prosciutto, ricotta, honey, marcona almonds and extra olive and balsamic vinegar
IMG_8962.JPG
So easy and comforting!
Mangia!
IMG_8967.JPG
What are some of your autumn traditions?

Xo,
IMG_1115.JPG
Upvotes, resteems & Donations are loved! Merci 💕
BTC
3EnChez6mqJGzsLtFzrXiuAcwy26QcE4YS

ETC
0x2D7Af3A929caFF0408B7b876BF6Be84A656e9668

LTC
LhTXkbJF7m4BrK2HFrF96xrKvoozRAy3w9

Sort:  

Oh lord, I love focaccia, seriously drooling for this!

It is such an easy and quick recipe, you won’t believe how delicious it turns out in the end! If you try it please let me know💜

I'll send you pics if I try it some day in the near future :)

My mothers family is too, from Palermo and Campania!

I think this reply was meant for @miti :D

Yes whoops❤️

Yes, I think so.... :D

Cool! I kind of had it figured from the beginning.. from a few italian words you wrote in your posts. :-)

You're welcome! I'm Italian and so I know quite a bit about "Focaccia"!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Look mommy look! I made a focaccia!

1951C5FE-E5E5-41E8-80B8-B5CA6F7CBC1C.jpeg

9E2EAF59-0879-415A-A86B-AFA25F7FAF5E.jpeg

I will definitely try your recipe 🙂 it's looks so 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80