A walk around the creek, and finding peace in the present moment.

in #life6 years ago

Every year, for the last 3 years, mid march to the first week of April is a hard time of the year for me. I had never been familiar with deep grief until I had lost my mother during this time 3 years ago. She had suffered a stroke and remained on life support for about 5 weeks before we made the family decision to remove the machines and let her rest. She had always had the opinion that if machines were needed to keep her alive, we were to let her go, and we honored that.

20150630_212735.jpg

3 years later, the grief is still there, but it doesnt pour over as frequently as it used to. The past 3 years have shaped my life more than the previous decades in some ways. Grief is something I dont think anyone ever truly "gets over". It just doesnt come around as much as time goes on.

When i do have my days of missing her, I take walks down to the creek. Being here gives me a soothing sense of peace and a connectedness with nature, along with a real appreciation for the present moment.

received_2044136915603031.jpeg

Focusing on a single flower blooming from the leaf litter can give you great perspective on life. Even in the farthest hidden corners away from our eyes, life finds a way to continue.
received_2044136365603086.jpeg

Working with my hands also gives me peace during this time of the year. My mother was a multi talented person. She did everything from shoot guns and throw grenades in the army to crochet blankets for all the grandkids. Using my hands to nurture and create gives me a connection to her spirit through my expressions. Gardening is helping me get my hands back into the dirt and connect with the planet. My mother grew up in a poor family as cotton workers. Gardening was the only source of food in her time and it helps me understand and appreciate what she had to do in order to live her day to day life.
20180403_062941.jpg

I also like to try to learn new things this time of the year. Like my mom, i also like to aquire many talents and I try to focus on a new skill each year. This last two have been focused on homesteading skills, and now I would like to start on a more artistic venture.

Glass Blowing and Lampworking

IMG_1444cvar.JPG
Image Source
Heather and I both are excited to start this craft together. We have been focused on all things related to building up the homestead, but not any creative outlets that could also support us. We plan on making our own beads, ornaments, and pendants, then wire wrap or braid them to sell at gift shops and the like to start out, but my end goal is to offer memorial glass services, where ashes of a pet or loved one can be encased in glass to create really unique and beautiful treasures. It is an artform that is calling to my soul and I am so excited to get the starter kits. We wont be able to get the startup materials (roughly $200) for another few months because of bills (and a need to eat haha!) but we are in hopes to start out this summer or fall.

Doing a combination of these things is what helps me deal with the grief and loss that will wash over me, even to this day. It gives me fuel and strength to do what any parent would want their child to do when they pass on. Live.
Live full, move forward, be well..

Sort:  

Prayers and blessings to you and your family in this trying time. The loss of a loved one is never easy; no matter how many years it has been. WIshing you the strength you need to get through this.

Glass blowing? Now that sounds so interesting. Hoping you and Heather are able to save the needed funds to start this new venture and creative outlet.

Thank you. Its a rough time of the year, but I am learning to live with ut much easier than the last 2 years. I have an amazing wife who gives me strength when i need it most.

I am hoping to start the glassblowing soon. I tried it before with a friend and it was such a great time I want to do more!

Bro, nice write up of an intense feeling. I am glad you were able to share this with everyone. Life is good!

Thanks bro! Life is good indeed. Things get dark sometimes, but they will pass!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.55
ETH 3796.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52