You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Makes Life Meaningful??

in #life7 years ago

I think it's the little things that are most important.

And time spent with those you care about. Just think- do you remember what you got for your seventh birthday or 11th Christmas? Maybe one thing... But you definitely remember the family vacations you took at any age :)

Sort:  

Yes the small things, in the moment are definitely the ones that count! I can remember all those great family times and they are ingrained in me. The best times for sure. Thanks for this reminder and comment @arbitrarykitten!!

After hearing the importance I place on traveling and spending time together, a Dad told me I should adjust my parenting- kids should realize trips are a special treat for rare occasions not something to be counted on. No. Just no. That is not the attitude I wish to convey.

I would rather take my children on a trip than give them presents they will only outgrow.

Trips are honestly the best times and memories. We hardly remember the gifts but I can always remember the car rides and places we visit. I think that is a fantastic idea!

I cherish the memory of a trip my mom took us on - to go watch the flamingos at a distant lake. (She was an artist and wanted to capture their elegance on paper) - not that this is what what gives meaning to life though!

It was the togetherness and things you did while on vacation that brought the meaning :)

That joy was (and as a recollection still is) indeed part of the fulfillment of meaning, with 'meaning' seen in a perhaps more rational sense ;)

- just my silly obsession with a rational understanding of the way everything in our universe fit together that leads me to express it a little differently!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56