[Whole30 Diet] Day 12 - Sushi Hack

in #life8 years ago

Breakfast was simple fried eggs with avocado. Look at those happy, healthy yokes!

Lunch was fried cabbage in ghee with... more avocado.

Apple and almond butter snack. Never gets old.

I took my oldest to gymnastics in the evening and afterward we had a nice mother daughter dinner. She's new to loving sushi and could eat it all the time. This particular design-your-own-sushi chain is next to a WholeFoods. Since rice is a grain and grain is a Whole30 no-no I decided we'd get her sushi and I'd get something from WholeFoods. Once we were ordering her sushi, though, I noticed they had butternut squash as their seasonal veggie option. I got the GENIUS idea of asking them to replace rice with the squash and explained why I was asking. They looked at me like I had two heads but were happy to experiment.

This was the end result of my hopefully whole30 compliant sushi roll. I was so excited to have thought of this hack that I forgot I couldn't have any soy sauce or ginger or tempura crunch on it. The restaurant did a great job cooperating with me and even gave it to me free because they thought they did an awful, messy job (I didn't), but I'll admit that in the end it was a bit bland.

I asked for ginger and ate one sliver before I realized it might be pickled in sugar. One google search later and I had to lay the ginger (also known as my favorite part of sushi) to rest. 😞

My sweet dinner date was well pleased though.

Later in the night I had my distance healing session with a shamanic practitioner whom I'm familiar with, over the phone. I'm posting this update a day late because I stayed up so late getting my energy worked on instead of writing. I will write about that experience as well when I've processed it more fully. I'm waiting for my dreams to show us everything we accomplished but so far but I can say that I felt her working and I was really happy when the session was over. I really look forward to writing about what we did so stay tuned for that.

Onward to day 13!

Sort:  

Hello @aprilangel,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Nice job on the sushi! You know....Hayden loves sushi now, too. We will have to make a dinner date!! I am really excited to hear about your healing session, too!

Yes! I'd most prefer waiting until I'm done with W30 to get sushi. When I say bland, I mean it was BLAAAAAAAND.

Are you doing home delivery? :)

Lol, wouldn't that business do well?!! I'd certainly appreciate having someone do this instead of me.

You're doing well! and starting to get the hang of the sort of changes you can make to eat healthier. I'd say that's a better breakfast too. All good to have a little fruit, but cutting it back a bit from where you were should help your energy be more steady.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83