Adventures in Gingerbread House Making

in #life6 years ago

I’ll admit it, I don’t love our elf-on-the-shelf. My 9 year old pretends not to know it’s me because she loves hijinx. She complains when he isn’t wacky enough and reminds me before bed “I sure hope Poe makes a mess tonight (wink, wink)".

It probably doesn’t help that my best friend Chrissie has killer elf-on-the-shelf game and Luna gets to hear all the wild stories from her best friend Hayden about Rio’s antics.

Luckily, our elf delivered last night and brought us a this sweet gingerbread house to decorate.

IMG_7119.JPG

Certainly my 2 year old is old enough to actually enjoy this and not just throw all the candy on the floor?

Here we are, gluing the walls and roof and chimney with icing.

IMG_7120.JPG

I can’t tell you how bad for your health this “food” from china must be and how many times I have to remind (beg) my children to stop eating the icing.

We decorated the roof and had to take a break. My two year old is potty training and recently has this thing where she will not sit on a toilet to do number 2. She will point an authrotaive hand up at your face if you ask her if she’s pooping and yell “no! Stop!” in a low grunt that tells you she is.

I thought I’d aced getting her onto the potty in time until my 9 year old fell off of the couch laughing at something she’d obviously seen. I assumed poo fell on the floor. I wish poo fell on the floor.

IMG_7123.JPG

This is pretty much just a day in the mom-life though so after a quick clean up we marched back to the gingerbread house that they never give you enough icing for. I had to make a new batch after we used it all on the roof. Thankfully, we eventually managed to create this masterpiece....

IMG_7124.JPG

Worth it.

These are the memories that last a lifetime. 😉🎄🎅

Sort:  

Haha! Great story! Of course they're new shoes!

My eight-year-old is running us ragged with those stupid elves. We had to get two because the first one was a "boy" and it was supposed to be a girl. Then of course they each needed a "pet". So now my wife and I have little contests to see who has to be the one to find hiding places/activities for each of these stupid things to do every night. I usually win at paper-rock-scissors but she kicks my ass on coin-flips, odd/even, and high-card.

As for the little squatter....we've got twin boys with Autism who are 19 and will probably never be completely potty trained. I can't tell you the joys of changing them on a daily basis. I've got shoes dedicated to only dealing with that. Yikes!

Yes, the memories will be good. But I can't wait until they're actually memories and not daily occurences. :-)

Keep up the good work! It's fun to read your stuff....

Twins!?! Wow, you've been changing/cleaning up after accidents for 19 years? Hats off to you my friend, you deserve a ceremony!!

I think it's hilarious that your elves have pets! Dear god I can't imagine.

daily life of a mom , you are doing a great job, you deserve an upvote . when they grow up they will cherish the memories

Thank you! Two kids with a 7 year age span definitely makes planning craft activities challenging. We'll certainly remember this one for many years to come. :)

Same battle I have with my afterschool kids every year for Winter Vacation.

GUYS YOU WILL GET SICK THIS IS FOR DECORATION ONLY HAHA.

But awesome post :)!

Thanks! You totally get it.

"But seriously kids, DECORATION ONLY", lol.

Little junkies.

I really like your story

Thanks! I enjoyed sharing it. 😊

wow very creative at all,
it looks like the cake was very tasty,
whether it can be fed

Thanks! They enjoyed decorating it. I was happy to step back and let them make all the decisions.

your post is very creative,
if I may know that the cake can be eaten?

I don't think anyone should really eat this, but technically it's possible. It's just full of preservatives and other nasties your body wouldn't really enjoy.

This is amazing and reflecting that you had a beautiful and memorable time with your family. These are those precious days we can't bought again, God bless you and your family. Thanks for sharing.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Thank you for your encouragement. When the kids grow up, this is what I'll remember and treasure. 😊

Welcome and agreed. ☺

hahahaha cute God bless you and your family

Thank you! 😍

Congratulations @aprilangel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks!! :)

I loved this post! I laughed out loud! A day in your life! Right? Making memories, and a good desert. A great story! Or Not? Great photos!

It's a great story, I agree. :) I started laughing as soon as I spotting what Luna was cracking up about.

After the birth of a man, his mother is the closest friend of any child who thinks the closest friend to her mother, I love my mother.

Awww, I hope my kids feel the same way when they are older. 😍
Every mother's dream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45