The Final Coat on the Cobb Oven.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

   

  Returning to the oasis in the desert after my successful hitchhiking mission from Tuscon, I could not help but feel a warm sensation of love in my chest. I had developed a connection with this land, it’s people, the rustle of the leafs, and the bird conversations above. It felt good to be back. 

    Walking around the corner after greeting my fellow villagers, I came upon my destination. I saw my unfinished project. This Cobb Oven to be, was my responsibility, I vowed to create it with the help of the community. My landing did not take long, as I almost immediately began preparing for the final coat. 


After sifting sand to the finest grade possible, I mixed hydrated lime with sand in a 1 part lime to 3 parts sand ratio, in a 5 gallon bucket with a power drill. That was done quickly with the help of technology, which gave me plenty of time to consult with one of the inhabitants about a final coat design with stained glass. She was an artist that clearly had a vision for the oven. I believed in her vision and I gave her full creative control over the stain glass design. I would apply the lime plaster and help place the little pieces of glass.  

 
 Little by little the once brownish red abrasive oven transformed into a smooth cream sprinkled with stained glass.  

 
     

Her design embraced the oven opening as the Sun, with its yellow mosaic Sun rays. Right above the top ray with a smokey quarts crystal, a blue stained glass trail began to take you on a journey. As you follow this roller coaster of a trail, you will see that it ends with a huge puzzle of glass that resembles a majestic dragonfly. The Sun’s dragonfly comes to earth, for earth is represented by the blades of green glass grass circling the bottom of the oven.
 

All three of us sculpted the final product into the night, using lights to extent our playtime. This continued until the deed was done. 


     We completed the project! It was because of all of our combined efforts, that we created something that will directly benefit the community. Its fun to think that this was once just an idea.  

  


     Coming back the next day I was quite pleased with our work. Besides some small surface cracks in the lime, it was a solid finish. It made sense why we had those surface cracks. We applied the lime a bit thicker than usual to accommodate the stained glass more. From my experience, you want to apply lime plaster pretty thin.   
 

 The community was thrilled to see another oven standing in the place where many had tried.   

 It wasn't long before we fired it up and cooked ourselves some homemade pizza! I remember going to sleep that night a very satisfied man. I also went to sleep that night knowing that the fruits of my labor are going to nourish the souls of this community for a long time. A warm sensation in my chest ran through my veins when I realized this. I live for that feeling.   


   


  A couple weeks had past when a previous visitor came back to Wind Spirit after two weeks of being gone. This time he came back with an interesting proposition for me that I could not refuse.    
 

To be continued... 


I hope you enjoy this video I made! 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
 

Sort:  

What a wonderful post, thanks for sharing

Thank you so much for taking the time to read it. @gee-world !

Wow. Very nice job friend.

Gratitude my friend! Steem On!

Fantastic! Now I want one too! Just think, you could even find work plastering or making Cob ovens or just share within the Steemit community. But better than that, you are showing others how simple and approachable projects like this really are! Bravo! Look forward to seeing what other adventures you get up to on here!

Gratitude @ecoknowme ! Your right, I believe I could definitely find work doing this, given the right community of clients of course. for sure, I will keep sharing my life with this awesome platform! Thanks for the acknowledgement! Everything can be simple in my opinion. It just takes a shift of perspective. I look forward more of your support!

There is always Helpx and Workaway and WWoofing for organic gardening, but maybe all those could get integrated on here too/instead. worth a look since they are already available. I have friends who do a bit of natural building and when traveling to NZ they actually had their choice of project to help with since so many people wanted/needed help at the time. Best of luck!

those are great pics thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

I appreciate your support @othmanesl !

I need to see a pizza in there.

haha Go on down to Wind Spirit Community in Arizona and I am sure you will get what you ask for @joshuatucker .

Congratulations @apollomission! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You did a great job! I would love to make one ...thank you for sharing!

We live in the age of information. You have the tools necessary to create this yourself :) Steem on my friend!

Congratulations @apollomission! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46