You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I want to let go!

in #life6 years ago

I had a much, much longer reply, but...

hmm...

I don't think the phone is the problem. It's certainly the medium, though, or you wouldn't want to detach from it yet can't.

I know you're involved with a lot of communities, projects, and people on Steemit. Your heart is just that gigantic (it astounds me). I've gotten the impression over the last month that you're relied on a lot, and have to be reachable. It's a good point I've heard repeated by many people who know you.

Now... I personally have a really low tolerance to stress-inducing tasks, and needing to be contactable/relied on all the time would make me more tired than I usually am (because my medication side-effects are just that awesome). Wanting to not be too popular, or called upon makes it seem like I'm reclusive and untalkative and shy. Surely, though, I don't express myself like this when I write. I have pride, but I mask it. I'm a person who throws balls into the court from the sidelines. It's to keep attention away, but still be necessary. So, at least for me, I focus down on one or two things (people, tasks, projects, etc) to reduce frustration and stress (and not end up tired). They usually end up as small things or mundane tasks, but, for the sake of my health, I like attention to be graciously avoided.

You can probably multitask better than I can since you have more experience with it, but if I can offer you some kind of suggestion... perhaps weigh priorities heavier and drop a couple more projects. You'll have less to do, and you won't need to be reachable all the time. That'll allow you to keep the phone elsewhere without worry. That'll also lessen the feeling of anxiety since that's the actual emotion you're attaching to your phone. I'm going to guess here (educated, but there's not enough information to make a secure assessment) that you experienced the most extreme version of anxiety when you got the call about your father. Loss is devastating, and affects your entire sympathetic nervous system... rigs it to avoid it again. It manifests in the most curious of ways. Your feeling of needing to be available at all times may be reverberating the echoes of that experience which results in you wanting to escape it.

I swear, this was (way) longer! I hope this wasn't clipped too much, and helps. If this doesn't seem to be what you're going through, I hope you'll continue to medicate by writing about it more... let us all know how to help better if you desire it.

hugs

Sort:  

Wow, I can not express the thankfull feelings I am having when I read your words! Thank you so much for your reply and I want you to know that you touched me with your words.
I will read them again to make sure they stick in my head!
You are a wonderful person and I am so glad that we connected!
You are right at so many points!

Again, thank you!

^_^

hugs more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71