You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The map is not the territory" - Breaking Down Reality

in #life7 years ago

The map is a metaphor for our belief system, values and principles (How we view the world), the map of the world we have in our minds is not the real world but just a reflection of our beliefs.

This reminds me of the philosophy of Kant regarding the noumenal and phenomenal realms. I am not sure about his metaphysical assertions but, to be honest, was he even sure that there is a world independent of our ideas or perception. I haven't read his work extensively so please, if you do know, let me know if I am off.

I do believe it is possible that one may have portions of their map so to speak that do represent the real world. In other words, there are absolutes which we may arrive in our thinking. Do we know if they are asolutes? Perhaps not but, if absolutes do exist then it is reasonable that there is a human mind that may have a conception of them and thus possess a good portion of the map.

Maybe we all have a sliver of the map of the territory but surely no man does in toto. That is why we are able to learn from one another and cooperate. A wonderful dynamic of interpersonal relationships if I do say so myself.

Keep blogging. I like where this is going. ;)

Sort:  

Thank you for awesome comment brother!
About Kant's work, I did not have the chance to check it but I will.
You could say there are absolute, there are facts, and facts are true no matter what our perspective. The earth is round, that's a fact, but there are still people with the belief it's flat.

Thank you for great comment again :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61497.04
ETH 2478.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66