Kitten memories from Holland | We almost adopted a kitten

in #life5 years ago

large-cutekitties.jpg

In Holland we had kittens a few times, and it was a time filled with love

I wouldn't have want to miss it for the world. The love coming from these tiny creatures, it's unbelievable. We had kittens laying around us everywhere, and they were adorable. Every single one of them had their own character of course, and I had my favourites. Unfortunately, I didn't have the best camera at the time, and going through the hundreds of pictures, made me realize I have just a few that are great. But this time I was actually looking for the kitten with the tiger stripes, as we almost adopted one of these here just a few days ago.

Cats rule, they act as if they own the place but they still rule

The funny moments we had with our adult cats but also the kittens, I can write books about them. We were lucky enough that our beloved cat has found a warm nest with one of our dear friends in Holland when we left the country. They are a match made in heaven, and she owns the garden. These little cuties above were here babies. I had my preference for the striped kittens as they had a little more power in them, they were a bit wilder and had no fear. The male one of them (not the one above, this was the little sister) was my absolute favourite kitten, I loved them all, don't get me wrong, but with him I had a special bond. Unfortunately he died, he found a great home but had an accident some weeks after he left the nest, and that was the end of his short life.

I always said, if we ever adopt a cat again, I want one like him

This was after Spain btw, because in Spain we had the luck to take home the black cat of our host where we volunteered once we asked him if he could miss one of his cats. We adored them both, and he knew he would be loved. So the remaining time in Spain he lived with us, and when we left Spain he went back to him. This mister was one special something himself, and he also has a special place in my heart forever. It took some time to settle down in Budapest, and even though we both missed having a cat, it was never an issue or something that kept me busy. Until a while ago, a black cat decided to stay in the garden of our apartment building, we can't access that part, so we only see him from our balcony. Daughter keeps calling her, and the few times she comes to say hello downstairs when we leave or enter the building, she's all happy that the cat came to say hello. Then I found a message on Facebook, where someone said there were 2 kittens (and mom) in their garden needing a new home, as she is allergic to them and can't keep them. Guess what one looked like? Just like my little friend in Holland. I knew that I wanted him when I saw a video of him. I fell in love.

I forgot one minor detail though...

In our contract (we rent our place) is stated that if you break any house rules they can evict you immediately without a court hearing. One of them says no pets, unless you have permission. So it was never an option to just get the cat, and hope they won't make a fuzz about it. I also understand that when you get new tenants you prefer not to agree on them bringing pets, as you can't tell upfront how these tenants take care of your place and the pet. You don't know them yet. But after living in this apartment for 1,5 years now, seeing my landlord monthly, and getting to know and appreciate each other, I assumed that she'd know we would not allow the cat to damage anything in the property. Important note: all the furniture is ours we rent it without any furniture. On top of that we have experience with these cuties, and none of them has ever damaged anything (not even a curtain) or wet the floors in Holland, we know how to raise them, as we spend a lot of time with them. But unfortunately, I also forgot how much the male landlord hates cats, so there was actually no chance of them saying yes. She sent me a message that she was thankful for me asking in advance and explaining that they never allow it.. And that was it.. our family will probably not be extended with another furry family member until we move on to the next adventure, in another house, with other landlords.

Thankfully I have many memorable stories and pictures to think back about the kitten days in the past..

~Anouk

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82